Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
08-22-2020, 09:46 PM
Free Member

I’ll start by saying that I’m a complete beginner to video capturing. A few days ago I took on the project of digitising all our old family videos from the 90s and 2000s. I’m doing this now since my mum was getting worried that the tapes would degrade. The videos I need to convert were recorded on 16 HI8 90minute tapes by a Canon UC8HiE (which has composite and s-video outputs), 28 MiniDV tapes by a Sony DCR-HC18E (which has DV out and A/V out ports), VHS tapes (although I suspect most of these are copies of the previously mentioned tapes, with the exceptions being the odd VHS tape received from a company such as a wedding recording) and finally some DVDs which I think fall into the same boat as the VHS tapes.

The first thing I did after some light browsing was to buy an Elgato Video Capture device which takes a composite/s-video input and outputs to USB. It comes with simple software that has almost no options and outputs MP4. I’ve been happily capturing the Hi8 tapes for 2 days like this and the quality I thought was good. However, I started noticing that the captured videos were shorter in length than the recordings on the tapes. After investigating I noticed that when the person filming the footage on the tapes moves fast or shakes the camera, the captured video of that section is garbled with an effect that makes it look like the tape is bouncing all over the place inside the camera (Clip1 and Still1 attached). These sections of tape end up being cut short in the capture. I thought the tape was just old at first however the distortion doesn’t appear when watching the tape through the viewing port on the camera or when the camera is hooked up to the TV (Clip 2 attached).