digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Decent capture card for modern system? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/13063-decent-capture-card.html)

Cal_ 11-04-2022 11:05 AM

Decent capture card for modern system?

Hello everyone! I'm brand new to this stuff and understand you guys are probably annoyed with the amount this type of question is asked, but I really need a push in the right direction. Just a week ago I didn't even know the difference between different types of camcorder tapes or what a TBC was, but have since done a few hours worth of research to get my bearings, so that should give you some perspective of where I'm situated. I also don't commonly use forums, so please forgive me if I'm doing this wrong.

I'd like the ability to digitize tapes from a Sony CCD-TRV87 camcorder, and as I understand it the absolute best way of going about this is to utilize a dedicated XP build with a nice deck, TBC, and an ATI AIW. Sadly though, I'm going to school soon and will be living in a very small space for a couple of years, so I don't have the money or space to utilize a setup like this. All I really have is my modern desktop (AMD 5000 series CPU, 30-series GPU).

I've looked for an alternative route that would be practical for my niche situation, and have since attempted to talk to people in the spaces I currently occupy that are deep into the hobby, but sadly enough all they recommend is something like a Pinnacle Dazzle or a Digital8 camcorder through firewire for my use-case. When I try to inquire about superior options after explaining the issues those solutions may pose, they've just replied in a demeaning or dismissive manner.