Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
04-30-2023, 10:46 PM
Free Member

Just getting started with my new workflow from lordsmurf to digitize VHS tapes. Total newbie so trying to figure things out. Here's what I have:

JVC SR-M55
DVK-200
Pinnacle Systems GmbH 510-USB Rev:2.0

I have a few PC's I can use, but both are running Windows 11. Is there a version of VirtualDub that works with Windows 11? Should I use a different software (I don't mind paying for something that works well)? Or, do I need to go find an old computer with an older version of Windows?

My hope is that the hardware I've acquired will maximize quality playback, and the software will provide solid results without being crazy complicated. I'd consider myself to be reasonably competent with running software, but I'll admit that my first impressions of VirtualDub have seemed intimidating. Not sure how much of that is the software, and how much of that is my inexperience in this world of video capture. Any advice to help me get started would be appreciated.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-30-2023, 11:14 PM
Free Member

Virtual Dub is over-rated, IMO.

If you cannot get it working on Win 11, try the simpler AmarecTV:

https://www.videohelp.com/software/AmaRecTV

Ignore any prompts for version 4 AmarecTV codecs; version 3.1 is fine.

Guide here:

https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vid...html#post86872

Let us know how you get on on Win 11.
05-01-2023, 06:23 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,458 Times in 2,090 Posts
There's too many unknowns with AmarecTV, and it fails to work with many cards.

@goofy, did you try VirtualDub 1.9.x yet?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
05-01-2023, 07:23 AM
Free Member

Quote:
There's too many unknowns with AmarecTV, and it fails to work with many cards.
There are no unknowns.

Which cards?