#1  
05-29-2023, 12:24 PM
Jayce72 Jayce72 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 38
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Panasonic DMR ES10 has no audio output.

Therefore, can I bypass the Audio from VCR to Capture card.

so:
Audio from VCR to Capture card
Video from VCR to ES10 to Capture card

I am in the UK and therefore PAL

I am capturing using:

Windows 10
VirtualDub (64 bit)

I am getting audio sync issues - I have tried differing combinations in the timing section and getting issues

So I dont know whether:
1. I cant by bass audio without issues
2. I have my timing settings all messed up
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-29-2023, 01:41 PM
Eric-Jan Eric-Jan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Netherlands,
Posts: 421
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce72 View Post
My Panasonic DMR ES10 has no audio output.

Therefore, can I bypass the Audio from VCR to Capture card.

so:
Audio from VCR to Capture card
Video from VCR to ES10 to Capture card

I am in the UK and therefore PAL

I am capturing using:

Windows 10
VirtualDub (64 bit)

I am getting audio sync issues - I have tried differing combinations in the timing section and getting issues

So I dont know whether:
1. I cant by bass audio without issues
2. I have my timing settings all messed up
Why don't you give any info about your vcr or capture card/stick ?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Eric-Jan for this useful post: lordsmurf (05-29-2023)
  #3  
05-29-2023, 04:12 PM
Jayce72 Jayce72 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 38
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric-Jan View Post
Why don't you give any info about your vcr or capture card/stick ?
Didnt think that was relevant to the precise question I asked. But its

- Panasonic NV-VP31 video player
- Dazzle DVC100 capture device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-29-2023, 05:41 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13,839
Thanked 2,504 Times in 2,129 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce72 View Post
My Panasonic DMR ES10 has no audio output.
ES10/15 usually (though not always) has audio delay internally. So audio must be routed through the unit. If routed external, it must be somehow delayed prior to capture.

I have an ES10 with no delay, but it was apparently an NTSC early version unit. Latter units have delay. I've never seen (or heard about, read) a PAL unit that not delay.

But also remember: the ES10/15 is not a true TBC. It is a minimalist TBC(ish) device, with strong+crippled line TBC, and non-TBC frame sync. This can matter, and often does. This item was never suggested as some sort of "TBC replacement" because it's not. The ES10/15 can still pass or even induce dropped frames, thus cause audio sync issues. It needs to be chased by at least a weak frame TBC (example: the "also has" non-TBC DataVideo items "with TBC").

Quote:
I am capturing using:
Windows 10
VirtualDub (64 bit)
Sometimes Win10 can induce issues. It's a really crap OS for capturing. It can work, and well. But more often, it does not, and is a glorious orgy of problems.

I am getting audio sync issues - I have tried differing combinations in the timing section and getting issues

So I dont know whether:
1. I cant by bass audio without issues
2. I have my timing settings all messed up[/QUOTE]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayce72 View Post
Didnt think that was relevant to the precise question I asked. But its
- Panasonic video player
- Dazzle DVC100 capture device
Everything is relevant when it comes to capture.

That's a "meh" VCR combo deck, bog standard "better" low end unit from 2000s (VHS EOL). But for this base setup, perhaps fine.

That is a known terrible capture card. The DVC100 boxes completely screw up with image values (color, brightness, contrast, etc), and are especially awful at overexposing. Your videos tend to be extremely butchered. This all gets double worse, since the PAL ES10/15 can have luma gain issues. And the audio on it is not great, and sync issues can be there as well.

Overall:

- the Dazzle is a problem, replace it with a known quality card
- that ES10 may not function for you, for this setup, you'll have to get another with audio passing

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
The following users thank lordsmurf for this useful post: Jayce72 (05-31-2023)
  #5  
05-30-2023, 06:55 AM
Eric-Jan Eric-Jan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Netherlands,
Posts: 421
Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
The NV-VP21 is a VCR with a dvd player in it, VCR and DVD player have seperate RCA audio connections, are you sure, that you have connected the the correct RCA audio outputs ? or do you use a SCART connector ? (menu settings?)
Try to rule out, by testing….
Reply With Quote
  #6  
05-30-2023, 01:42 PM
Jayce72 Jayce72 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 38
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for replying Lord Smurf - pleasure as always

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I have an ES10 with no delay, but it was apparently an NTSC early version unit. Latter units have delay. I've never seen (or heard about, read) a PAL unit that not delay.
Success - Well after lots of messing around with the timing settings I have have Captured Video with Synced Audio using the ES10 (for Video) and by-passing the ES10 (with Audio) to the Capture Card using the attached screenshot for Timing

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
Sometimes Win10 can induce issues. It's a really crap OS for capturing. It can work, and well. But more often, it does not, and is a glorious orgy of problems.
What OS is Better - XP or Windows 7 for Capturing (and editing)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
- the Dazzle is a problem, replace it with a known quality card
I am getting a hauppauge live2 - you have recommended this before (not fantastic) - but it will be better than the Dazzle - hopefully


Attached Images
File Type: jpg timing.JPG (49.6 KB, 10 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
05-30-2023, 01:55 PM
pthebest19 pthebest19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 55
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Hi there.

My PAL ES10 has no delay, I did some tests. I do not route the audio through the DVD recorder as it adds noticeable audio buzz on my end.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank pthebest19 for this useful post: Jayce72 (05-31-2023), srmusico (06-12-2023)
  #8  
06-12-2023, 04:25 PM
srmusico srmusico is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 49
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
My Panasonic ES10 Pal has buzz also. Need to find a solution inside mac to resync audio.
Lordsmurf , are you sure that your Es10 models doesn't have audio noises?
let me attach one audio screenshoot and a video with the next config:

Video: Phillips VR 20D DVHS (TBC disabled) - SVideo output - Panasonic ES10 PAL SVideo 4 In (inside scart) - SVideo out to Svideo In AJA Kona LHi.

Audio: Phillips VR 20D DVHS (TBC disabled) - RCA output - Panasonic ES10 PAL RCA In - RCA out to XLR In AJA Kona LHi.


The video start with the connection done in the blue screen waiting for a VHS and with the noise.
then i do the next:

Power off VHS player - power off ES10 - remove audio cables from VHS to ES10 audio input - remove audio cables from ES10 to AJA Kona audio input - Then reconnect audio directly from Phillips VR 20D RCA to AJA Kona XLR.

What do you think??
How could avoid that noises?

thanks!


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Captura de pantalla 2023-06-12 a las 22.44.02.jpg (42.3 KB, 2 downloads)
Attached Files
File Type: mkv test.mkv (50.45 MB, 1 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
06-12-2023, 07:08 PM
srmusico srmusico is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Spain
Posts: 49
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
More comparisons :

Same Tape with and without going thru ES10:


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Sin pasar Por ES10.jpg (38.5 KB, 10 downloads)
File Type: jpg Pasando por ES10.jpg (39.0 KB, 8 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
audio, capture, es10, timing

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic DMR ES10 no audio output? Jayce72 Video Hardware Repair 9 06-21-2023 02:36 PM
For trade: Panasonic DMR-ES10 (EU) for Panasonic DMR-ES25 (US) marukuru Marketplace 3 07-08-2021 01:20 PM
Method to bypass Macrovision cheaply? PAL/NTSC converter? LightWorker01 Capture, Record, Transfer 5 04-19-2020 03:26 AM
TBC-4000 bypass switch function usage? ELinder Capture, Record, Transfer 2 12-13-2018 03:20 PM
Wanted Panasonic DMR-ES10 DVD recorder, to use for bypass rodbuilder Marketplace 10 08-30-2011 02:59 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM