digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   VHS/Virtualdub/Huffyuv Capture File Size Calculations & Questio (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/7746-vhs-virtualdub-huffyuv.html)

der_blockhead61 01-09-2017 12:32 PM

VHS/Virtualdub/Huffyuv Capture File Size Calculations & Questio

Hey folks I am new to capturing/digitizing VHS to digital, I am trying to determine how much storage space I'll need for my capturing project:

I am capturing some important old VHS tapes, I've read that it's best to use huffyuv uncompressed so that's what I'll do.

I've seen from practice that with
huffyuv 2 minutes of video = 1 gb filesize

I have 25 videotapes to digitize with 2 hours of video each

50 hours total = 3000 minutes

3000/2 =1500 so about 1.5 terabytes are needed to capture 50 hours of video using huffyuv, am I right?

I am going to use virtualdub for this but if anyone has recommendations for other capturing software I'm glad to hear them.

Also regarding virtualdub, any recommendations are welcome

Thank You :question:

sanlyn 01-09-2017 01:31 PM

Welcome to digitalfaq. And if you're up for some restoration work and quality output for your ultimate goal, you're on the right track.

Computers are for work, not for storage. No one -- at least no one with prior experience -- would store their captures on their PC. External USB drives of 500GB to 1TB are so cheap these days and so well made (try Western Digital Elements or Toshiba Canvio Basic), they're a mainstay for storage and for saving your work files. The PC is for current working activity.