digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Encode, Convert for discs (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-conversion/)
-   -   Lossless transcode from HuffYUV-MT to HuffYUV? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-conversion/12994-lossless-transcode-huffyuv.html)

kaliree 09-30-2022 09:42 PM

I'm new to using VirtualDub. I have downloaded the VirtualDub 1.9.11 zip from LS's thread as well as the HuffYUV and HuffYUV-MT codecs from the same thread. Running VirtualDub on Windows 10. I have a HuffYUV file that was encoded with HuffYUV-MT and would like to losslessly convert it to standard HuffYUV.

What is the most reliable method to perform that conversion in VirtualDub (or whatever other tool would be better suited to the task)?

Thanks!

-- merged --

I at least figured out part of it, I think. I did the following:

1. Opened the HuffYUV-MT AVI in VirtualDub
2. Options > Preferences > Threading
⁃ Set threading to “1” as that seemed to be the most efficient threading option on a modern CPU
⁃ Left color depth at default 16 bit (unsure of the input file’s depth, but the source was a home VHS recording)
⁃ Enabled 3D accel
3. Video > Video Color Depth
⁃ Left at defaults, but just realized that default is set to 24bit RGB (888). I think the input file is YUY2 4:2:2, but I’m not sure.
4. Video > Compression
⁃ Selected HuffYUV v2.1.1 - CCESP Patch v0.2.2 as the codec
⁃ Left Default configuration options for the codec
5. File > Save as AVI

The audio is PCM and was left as the default PCM. The output file does read in MediaInfo as a standard HuffYUV file now.