Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for discs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
04-29-2016, 09:24 AM
BayAreaSean BayAreaSean is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So this is probably a pretty easy question for many, but the resolution switch between regions/DVD PLayers has always confused me. I was given a PAL VHS tape that I capture in Premiere Pro 5 with PAL DV Codec. I'm planning on exporting to Encore to make a DVD that will be region free but play in North America. Should I keep the PAL resolution, or export it into media encoder as 720x480? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-29-2016, 10:30 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,274 Times in 978 Posts
720x480. VHS is interlaced. So is NTSC DVD, and so is PAL DVD. Never resize video while it's interlaced. Deinterlace first, then resize, then re-interlace. NTSC DVD is 29.97fps, not 25fps. If the PAL DVD is movie-based, it could have been made in a number of ways. We'd need a short sample. There are ways to do that in Avisynth and some other free apps without screwing up frames and motion, but I don't think you'll fall in love with Premiere's results. Let us know how it turns out.

I don't work with analog to DV captures, but others can give you some ideas if you want to submit a short DV sample of a few seconds (with motion of some kind) to see how it can be done.

DVD specs for PAL & NTSC: http://www.videohelp.com/dvd#tech

Last edited by sanlyn; 04-29-2016 at 10:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: BayAreaSean (04-29-2016)
  #3  
04-29-2016, 10:45 AM
BayAreaSean BayAreaSean is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So when exporting out of Premiere should I change res from PAL res to 720x480 or would it make more sense to change settings to 720x480 when creating a new Encore project? I guess testing both ways would be a good way to see the results
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-29-2016, 11:11 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,274 Times in 978 Posts
Either way.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: BayAreaSean (04-29-2016)
  #5  
04-29-2016, 11:13 AM
BayAreaSean BayAreaSean is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
ntsc pal dvd, pal, resolution

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice on captured VHS, faulty s-video? zack82 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 04-26-2016 09:26 AM
ATI MMC Captured file location rocko Capture, Record, Transfer 0 06-22-2015 11:58 AM
Mistakenly captured into MS-YUV 16 bit metaleonid Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 01-27-2015 03:46 PM
No Audio Captured yargellham Capture, Record, Transfer 7 01-11-2005 01:53 PM
ATI video captured ... now what ? bigroy Capture, Record, Transfer 1 04-28-2004 03:52 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM