01-24-2020, 08:32 AM
Free Member

Hello! What can you recommend? I'm not a pro at video making so I'd like something easy to use and noob friendly. Subscription is ok if it's worth it.
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-24-2020, 09:34 AM
Free Member

I've been very happy with Corel VideoStudio. It's reasonably priced (currently $64 for the Pro version, although I use the slightly more expensive Ultimate version), you own it (no ongoing license), and there's a 30 day free trial so that you can try it out. Here are some of the features that I've come to appreciate:
  • Storyboard view and/or Timeline view. Work in whichever mode suits you best.
  • Work in 16:9 full HD or 4:3 legacy formats, any resolution you choose. Also supports PAL, although switching between NTSC and PAL is not exactly intuitive (I had to look it up online, but found it quickly).
  • Good library of special effects and transitions included.
  • ScoreFitter royalty-free music included. You can adjust the music to the length of your video and it will automatically insert an intro and finish to match it perfectly.
  • Works well with the lossless codecs which you need for legacy analog video.
  • Also has an import/capture function for digital video, if you have a suitable FireWire card. Dont use this product for capturing analog, however (no dropped frames indication).
  • Includes a number of "Instant Project" templates which give a professional touch to your video starts and endings. Just replace the placeholders with your own clips or still images and insert or change the text overlays.
  • Excellent functionality for exporting, whether digital to MP4 or MPEG-2. Also has DVD mastering capability out of the box with multi-level menu creation; Blu-ray mastering can be added for a modest upcharge ($7.95, last I checked).