Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Restore, Filter, Improve Quality

LinkBack Thread Tools
05-01-2022, 02:08 AM
Free Member

Hi, a little backstory, I have been working on and off for a few months trying to perfect my VHS capture setup for archiving my old home movies which are all on vhs-c tapes.

My current setup is a JVC HR-SC1000U>DMR-ES10>Panasonic WJ-AVE5(digital frame sync)>BM Intensity pro

I think I've gotten the capture chain looking pretty solid, its good enough for my needs, very stable video so far.

The issue I'm having is that the JVC VCR used to play tapes perfectly, but all of a sudden it has horrible static and white streaks on the video (dropouts?). I noticed it come and go before, but last time it wasn't nearly this bad. The tracking was all off and it had some vertical jitter as well. I have cleaned the heads with some printer paper, done an alignment of the rollers and audio head, no improvement other than better tracking. The same tapes play fine on another cheap vcr combo unit that has its own unrelated issues. The JVC a rare machine, pretty old, but built very well and takes VHS-C tapes without the need of an adapter. It was great until it started doing this.