digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   No Audio Captured (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/141-audio-captured.html)

yargellham 01-03-2005 04:50 AM

Hi! I am a novice at this stuff. I bought AIW 128 PRO on ebay and am having trouble recording from the TV application (MMC 7.1) to an mp2 file. The video is recorded but there is no audio. The audio works fine when I'm just watching TV. I am using a DMAN 2044(M-audio) sound card. I checked all the ATI knowledge base articles pertaining to this problem and they all state that you have to configure the sound source in the sound initialization wizard of the TV initialization wizard. But no such wizard appears in my software even when I turn off video on demand as they suggest. Also, in the TV player set up Digital VCR tab, notihing appears after the words "audio" in the current settings group box.
Can anyone help me?

Thx,
Yargellham

admin 01-05-2005 10:13 PM

Sorry for the 2-day delay, been in and out of town first few days of the new year since it's holiday time (visit family).

Anyway, the ATI AIW 128 PRO card uses a Theatre chipset to capture video. Those are very good chips. However, the card is a bit old, so ATI has discontinued support on it, in terms of drivers and software. But all is not lost. ATI MMC 7.2 is about 4 years old now. ATI MMC 8.7 is one of the newer ones, and can be installed with a few simple hacks, as outlined on a guide on this forum. It is a HUGE performance and quality increase over the version 7 relic.

This is the guide for hacking up to ATI MMC 8.7:
http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/foru...asp?TID=2&PN=1

As far as the lack of sound recording, the two most common culprits are having the wires plugged in incorrectly, and having ATI MMC on the wrong audio input channel.