digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Video Hardware Repair (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vcr-repair/)
-   -   Is my new AVT-8710 DOA? (screenshots/clips of error) (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vcr-repair/3053-avt-8710-doa.html)

MikeT 02-12-2013 09:04 AM

Just Bought New AVT-8710 - Defective or not?

I am new to this site and read this whole thread which is quite long and has a lot of details. Is there a very simple way to determine if my new AVT-8710 (sn#2238406019888) is defective or not? (Wrong chipset? Bad sn# range? Fails a particular test? Etc.) I am not experienced with TBCs & want to make the determination before the return period expires in 2 weeks from BZBExpress. I see that a lot of people have had problems with this unit but some like it a lot. In my first experiences with this unit the results were mostly disappointing but I'm not sure how much I can expect out of it. I am using it with a Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U.
Thanks!
Mike

lordsmurf 02-12-2013 09:47 AM

Welcome to the site. :)

One of the posts discusses the chipsets affected. You may have missed it. Just go through it again until you find it.
The easiest test is to see how it reacts on a JVC S-VHS bluee screen. Good = good, wonky = bad.

MikeT 02-12-2013 11:39 AM