digitalFAQ.com Forum

digitalFAQ.com Forum (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/)
-   Capture, Record, Transfer (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/)
-   -   Capture VHS video using a Blackmagic USB? (https://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/12772-capture-vhs-video.html)

scoostraw 05-14-2022 11:45 AM

Capture VHS video using a Blackmagic USB?

I am trying to capture VHS video using a Blackmagic USB device. I have confirmed that I have a good composite signal in, but I have a black screen on the Media Express screen.

My video setting is 525i59.94 NTSC. This is a USB device and I am on a Mac running Catalina. The computer recognizes the Blackmagic device.

This is my first time doing this, so I am probably missing something.

If anyone can help me, I would really appreciate it!!

msgohan 05-14-2022 12:15 PM

First troubleshooting step for something like this: remove VHS from the equation.

Instead feed your capture device with "stable, standard video": the output of a DVD player, cable set-top box, etc. (Don't use an old video game console either, because those put out non-standard video.)

Note that Blackmagic devices are notorious on these forums, in a bad way. They aren't recommended for VHS capture.

scoostraw 05-14-2022 12:26 PM

Thanks very much for the reply msgohan.

I had the input on the Blackmagic set on component instead of composite. It is now working.

Now to decide what sort of quality I am getting. At first blush it does not look bad. (I'm using a VHS/DVD combo unit as my source)

dpalomaki 05-14-2022 12:37 PM

Which specific BM USB device?
Do you get sound but no black picture?

FWIW: The Intensity Shuttle was known to be finicky.

I don't know about the Mac or your USB system, but with some you have to be precise in both the video format in Media Express (which yours sounds OK) and and also configure the capture device for the right input connection type (e.g., composite vs s-video vs component vs HDMI).