Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

LinkBack Thread Tools
12-06-2013, 01:45 PM
Free Member

Hey everyone,

Before I begin capturing my 20+ hours of home movies I need to get an external hard drive to keep the files on, since avi files are so large. I'll be putting the footage on dvd eventually but I'd like to always have the avi footage just in case. From the internet research I've been doing the opinion towards Seagate and WD is split down the middle. So I thought I'd ask what everyone here thought. Thanks!!
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

12-06-2013, 04:41 PM
Free Member

i prefer Seagate
12-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Free Member

Volks, what do you think of this one?

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/backup-p...0005&cp=1&lp=2
12-06-2013, 05:02 PM
Free Member

decent price - i have no experience with that particular external
but ive had many Seagates and never had a complaint.
i have had WD's fail
12-06-2013, 06:10 PM
Free Member

Oh boy. I've had a 2tb WD for nearly 2 years now. I wonder why people have problems with these things. I only plug mine in to back up my pc, maybe 5 times a year.
12-07-2013, 08:59 AM
Free Member

I don't pay attention to "best" because every product will have some failures. For me, the more important issue is, "Exact compatibility of power connector" so, when I have more than one external drive, I can take one unit from desk to desk witout always unplugging and dragging the power-brick with me.

It seems like a small issue, but get two incompatibles and tell me how pleased you are when you've grabbed the wrong power brick, driven to some location only to discover the error then!! Grrr...

So, I buy for the sake of the power-brick's compatibility. (PS - both WD and Seagate have, at times, switched connectors so Older Units can't be used with Newer Power Bricks. Grrr. That's why God invented generic external drive cases.)
12-07-2013, 10:58 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,442 Times in 2,075 Posts