Quantcast How to improve Wi-Fi speed upstairs? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Life > Computers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
08-03-2016, 08:09 AM
M Berson M Berson is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Hi, I got a Bell Fiber plan. It has Fiber Optic cables running straight into my home. My plan is Fiber 150 and I got better speeds. I have my desktop in upstairs and I use it for downloading on games. Bell Technician installed a Powerline which is connected to the router and then to my PC. I get a fraction of what I used to get on the first floor. Is there any solution on how to improve WIFI speed?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-03-2016, 09:58 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,333
Thanked 635 Times in 452 Posts
This is just copy/paste spam. I don't understand the point.

from: http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/...-upstairs.html
Quote:
Hello, I have recently got a Bell Fiber plan which has Fiber Optic cables running straight into your home. My plan is Fiber 150 and I receive even better speeds than i'm supposed to be getting... At least on the floor where the Homehub router is. My desktop computer is upstairs and I do some heavy duty downloading on games. The Bell Technician installed a Powerline that is connected to the router and then to my computer. However, I am only getting a fraction of what I used to get on the first floor. Even WIFI is faster downstairs is faster than my Powerline Ethernet Connection Upstairs.
And MBerson had India IPs. There is no Bell in India.

Banned.


And FYI, the answer is easy: Powerline adapters are junk (ethernet over electric wiring), and it's common knowledge that WiFi is weak when traveling vertically. You really need to wire between floors, and have WiFi hotspots per floor. That means a small home construction weekend project. There's simply no way around that if signal quality matters to you.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
improve wifi speed on pc

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PAL Evolution G2 TBC to improve VHS tapes? no5play Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 11-28-2015 03:00 AM
How to determine what to improve on TV recordings Prelude Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 02-21-2015 02:24 PM
Try to improve on my basic video conversion process? Kevin81 Project Planning, Workflows 2 08-21-2013 10:28 AM
What is JVC's 3R and does it improve the picture quality? Member-X Capture, Record, Transfer 2 03-24-2012 07:22 PM
Need input! improve the quality of VHS cyber-junkie Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 01-19-2010 07:19 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM