Quantcast DVD Burning Errors, Cyclic Redundancy Check and burning freezes - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
07-12-2005, 10:17 AM
rmehta2 rmehta2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was trying to copy some of my DVDs today and I encountered a problem. It would read about 17% of the dvd and then just freeze. Next a warning popped up and it said "Error Reading Drive H, Cyclic Redundancy Check" The DVD doesn't seem to have any major scratches, but it must have enough to have this warning pop up. I also tried numerous DVD drives and still get the same error.

I wanted to know if there is any way to still copy this DVD?

Raman
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-12-2005, 10:34 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,179
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,344 Posts
Try another drive.
Does it play in the DVD player?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-12-2005, 10:44 AM
rmehta2 rmehta2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The DVD plays in the DVD player with no problem. And I also tried 4 different DVD drives in my computers. I think the way it was burned the first time has something to do with it.

Raman
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-12-2005, 11:05 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,179
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,344 Posts
Probably just your drives.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-12-2005, 11:47 AM
markatisu markatisu is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 202
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It could be bad blocks, run the Nero scan on it to see for sure. LS we have a member here who you know well that is infamous for this problem

Try ISOBuster and extract the dvd, it will take a while but it "should" read, if it cant then its probably hosed, thats sometimes the only way to fix a certain members discs when this same problem appears, learned that tip from Phillip

I think AOA ran into this problem as well, usually the PC can read it but the standalone regular DVD player has issues, I have seen though especially using the Apex and Cyberhome brands that it can read problem discs where the PC will choke
Reply With Quote
  #6  
07-12-2005, 12:59 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,179
Thanked 1,540 Times in 1,344 Posts
If it's one of those garbage Bulkpaq discs, you're probably stuck. Those discs fall outside the DVD spec in terms of the acceptable quality values. That's what happens when you buy "unknown" junk that was made in eastern Europe or mainland Asia (China,Hong Kong).

Your player cannot read it either, but a DVD player is not as "exacting" as a DVD-ROM, which has to read all the bits. Players skip bits and kick in error correction, which may or may not work (blocks, noise).

Is it one of those discs?
We're going to start banning people that use that garbage.


- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
07-12-2005, 07:42 PM
rmehta2 rmehta2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , .
Posts: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No its a RiData DVD disk.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
07-13-2005, 12:34 PM
emokid emokid is offline
Invalid Email / Banned / Spammer
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: , , USA.
Posts: 103
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have had a problem with 2 people, with impossible to copy media..... 1, was because it was their "masters" they passed on to me.. assuming they couldn't copy em either... the other, I have had a hell of a time with.. ugh
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burning Software For Mac Chala Blank Media 4 08-01-2010 02:33 AM
Which or both files for burning copies? cyber-junkie Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 2 03-12-2010 12:14 PM
Data DVD burning? lordsmurf Computers 0 10-26-2009 02:49 AM
Problems burning Pepeart Blank Media 17 08-25-2005 06:54 PM
DVD+R Burning issue - disc stops burning halfway through staypuftman2004 Copy DVDs, Duplicate, Replicate 3 07-23-2005 05:35 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM