Quantcast Can my Panasonic DMR-ES10EB record Freeview channels from my Panasonic TX-L-32G20B TV - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Videography: Cameras, TVs and Players

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
08-25-2010, 10:49 AM
Peter_T_Ross Peter_T_Ross is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have been using my DMR-ES10EB DVD recorder for about three years now. I have been recording from Sky because analogue reception in our area was non-existent. I have just bought a Panasonic TX-L-32G20B television and this picks up the digital channels fine, but I have been told that my recorder is analogue-only and that it will not record directly from the tv set, only via Sky as before. Is this true? If so is there any sort of black box that I can buy that will allow it to record from Freeview via the new set?

If it WILL receive the digital channels, how do I tune it?

I hope I am sending this to the correct group - please accept my apologies if I am wrong.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
08-25-2010, 02:01 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,342
Thanked 626 Times in 450 Posts
What's your location? (UK, I assume, but want to verify.)

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
08-26-2010, 06:16 AM
Peter_T_Ross Peter_T_Ross is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes, I am in the UK. I should have said.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
08-30-2010, 11:30 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,342
Thanked 626 Times in 450 Posts
Based on the available information, and my understanding of UK broadcasting, what you've been told is true. The older Panasonic ES10 from 2005 is analog-only coaxial on the tuner. This is true in North America, too (USA/Canada).

You can only record from s-video or composite -- or SCART, being a British specific model.

The television (and HDTV, I would assume) is new enough to have a digital tuner. In USA, it's ATSC (antenna) and/or QAM (cable). I forget the name of the signal jargon in Europe -- but it's the same thing, different name, somewhat difference specs (the old PAL vs NTSC issue, for the most part, nothing major).

In the USA, we have these ridiculous "digital converter boxes" that receive the new ATSC antenna signals and down-convert them to standard definition and output via composite (sometimes s-video, but usually just composite). I don't know off-hand if the same sort of box was ever made for UK use.

UPDATE...

I did some quick Google research, and it appears this same sort of box was created in UK, too. These are often called "freeview" receivers, converters, boxes. The terminology varies slightly, but it's essentially the same underlying principles.

For example, this Philips unit: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...SIN=B003INEHAA

That's probably all you need.


Sadly, even with a converter box, I'm too far away to get good signal reception. The ideal reception is within 30 miles (45 kilometers, if my math isn't too off), and I am just outside that range from the transmitters in my area. The geography doesn't help the situation, either -- the terrain is rather rough and uneven. Of course, if your TV is fine, then the box may work well for you, too.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-01-2010, 05:20 AM
Peter_T_Ross Peter_T_Ross is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you for your reply. I was hoping that someone in the UK might have the answer as I realise that the systems in other countries are different.

After many fruitless efforts to telephone the shop where I bought the recorder (every telephone number quoted on the internet was invalid!) I was eventually able to visit the shop and spoke to a knowledgeable salesman who told me that there was no way that it will record digital and that there was no gadget I could buy to convert it.

I can either buy another, newer, recorder that DOES record digital. or carry on recording from the Sky satellite, which is my cheapest solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Recorder - Is Panasonic good or not ? restauroman Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 03-15-2010 02:20 AM
Panasonic AG-1980 as good as JVC S-VHS VCR ? ramrod Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 11-13-2009 07:33 PM
Question on the Panasonic DMR-ES10 mrwhitethc Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 04-13-2008 07:30 AM
Yikes Panasonic help? cp32 Capture, Record, Transfer 8 12-14-2005 06:03 AM
Panasonic NVSV121EBS any good? manthing Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 8 07-12-2005 06:07 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM