Quantcast For Sale: new ATI 600 USB (Tevion clone), ignores Macrovision! [SOLD] - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Featured > Marketplace

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
03-11-2017, 03:50 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,466
Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,373 Posts
These are new cards in original box.

ATI 600 USB cards can be hard to come by. The card came out around the time that AMD bought ATI, and it had somewhat limited distribution compared to the ATI AIW or even later ATI cards. I needed another quality USB. And after much buying and test, I found one!

Tevion is a brand name of decent video hardware in Europe. Tevion mostly rebadges. Usually quality, sometimes not. For whatever reason, they made a foray in the USA market that didn't last more than that year.

Not all Tevion USB capture cards are good! Just this specific model. Tevion released several that year.
Works for:
- PAL Huffyuv AVI capturing
- NTSC Huffyuv AVI capturing

This Tevion has the same (??) Empia chipset as the ATI 600 USB. IRE, contrast, color and sharpness are all at good levels.

More interesting, unlike the ATI 600 USB, the Tevion ignores copy protection. I've also seen several instances where tearing was reduced or removed. If you have SP retail tapes, this is a perfect card to have. It may even be better than the ATI 600 USB for this reason. I've never investigated the card internals further, but it must have some sort of minor sync filtering/correction to achieve this feat. (Note: Also, for this reason, it's not an EZcap clone, as that card has quality issues not present here.)

The Tevion doesn't use the ATI Catalyst drivers, but has it's own installer. So no ATI CMC, meaning no MPEG. However, it records really nice Huffyuv lossless AVI captures. Exquisite even! And the ATI drivers can be a PITA at times anyway.

- It works in Windows XP and Vista using the install disc.
- It works in Windows 7, 8, and 10 using the video driver from the disc, and a generic driver in Windows. On Win7/8/10, you must turn the audio down to '1' in the OS (50% value), else it will distort/redline.

I bought several, but that project fell through. I'm keeping one for myself, selling the others.

Price $75.
Priced dropped: now $60.

Only 3 are available.
Only 2 are available.

PM if interested.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-19-2017, 09:59 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 252 Times in 221 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
This Tevion has the same Empia chipset as the ATI 600 USB
The ATI 600's eMPIA chip only handles audio & USB. For video, it's a TI chip.

Could you post the drivers for the Tevion? They may shed some light on the video decoder used.
  #3  
03-20-2017, 02:16 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,466
Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,373 Posts
I've always been unwilling to crack apart the USB sticks (thus ruining/destroying them), so I've never been 100% confident of what chips are inside. I'm going from information found elsewhere. I used to tear apart DVD recorders and internal cards, just not USB.

According to that site, these are the chips found in the ATI 600 USB cards:
- Xceive xc3028LCQ (tuner & analog demodulator)
- LG DT3303 (digital demodulator)
- Texas Instruments tvp5150 (video decoder)
- Empiatech em2883 (USB bridge and analog audio)

Beyond "Empia", I'm not completely aware of the hardware inside the stick. Again, not willing to crack it open. I notice that several Hauppauge and Pinnacle USB cards also use the same Empia and TI chips, and also uses it's own drivers (not ATI). And that's just from a quick glance. Since Tevion is a rebadger, it may be a rebadge of Hauppage/Pinnacle/etc and not ATI. But it does give quality very similar (maybe better?) the ATI 600 USB.

There's also a chance that it's not using the same TI chip, but a Philips SAA7113 chip. That's been used for 15+ years now, in both good and bad hardware.

BTW: This Tevion is made in Taiwan, not China, which is a tell-tale that it's not an EZcap/Easycap.

Regardless, the card captures really well.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
  #4  
03-20-2017, 12:55 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 252 Times in 221 Posts
If it does use the same hardware as the ATI 600, the drivers could possibly be used to force the ATI 600 to capture Macrovision. That would be nice.

I have edited drivers before to use one device's drivers with another similar device. Some success, some failures.
  #5  
03-20-2017, 01:05 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
If it does use the same hardware as the ATI 600, the drivers could possibly be used to force the ATI 600 to capture Macrovision. That would be nice.

I have edited drivers before to use one device's drivers with another similar device. Some success, some failures.
Brad, what about chroma for S-Video input?
  #6  
03-20-2017, 01:30 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 252 Times in 221 Posts
Doesn't matter since Macrovision'd sources = VHS = low chroma res.
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: metaleonid (03-20-2017)
  #7  
03-20-2017, 01:56 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I meant in general.
  #8  
03-20-2017, 02:22 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 252 Times in 221 Posts
In that case, I don't understand the question.
  #9  
03-20-2017, 02:41 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
The question was poorly asked. I meant if you knew whether Tevion USB also suffered from chroma resolution when connected via S-Video.

By the way, is this the one we're talking about?
  #10  
03-20-2017, 02:47 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,146
Thanked 252 Times in 221 Posts
I don't know the answer to either question. I've never heard of this device, outside of LS's posts.
  #11  
03-20-2017, 10:12 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,466
Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,373 Posts
FYI: metaleonid will be sending me some files to perform a test. Stay tuned!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
  #12  
03-20-2017, 10:53 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Give me some time to prepare DVE.
  #13  
03-24-2017, 09:50 PM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
- It works in Windows XP and Vista using the install disc.
- It works in Windows 7, 8, and 10 using the video driver from the disc, and a generic driver in
Curious about the drivers on this. So my setup is now all Windows 10 boxes. 64 bit specifically.

How exactly do you go about using both the included video driver on the disc as well as a generic in Windows? Or am I just misreading that and you don't mean simultaneously, just one or the other?

And have these been tested with 64 bit installs? Older hardware can sometimes be quite headache inducing with modern 64 bit OS's.

Would love to potentially add one of these to my tool bag as a quick and easy way to capture Virtualdub lossless AVI.

Thanks!
  #14  
03-24-2017, 10:17 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,466
Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,373 Posts
Disc for video, generic for audio.

Vista should be both 32 and 64.
And actually, I only tested 7/8/10 with 64-bit.

I've never seen the point to 32-bit 7. Nothing really works anyway, in terms of legacy 32-bit XP/Vista drivers. Nothing I've ever tested.

And does 8/10 even offer 32-bit?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
  #15  
03-25-2017, 07:40 AM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
And does 8/10 even offer 32-bit?
Yes.

I for the life of me can't figure out why. Microsoft claims that they still offer it because of how many older 32 bit versions of Windows they still see out there hitting Windows Update. But you would think that a modern OS wouldn't really have those old PC's in mind.
  #16  
04-08-2017, 10:26 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Ok, I got one from Amazon.com and quickly did test captures. Here are the results. I'll be returning mine due to poor chroma resolution (see box 1.5).

LS, let me know if your device does the same to chroma.


Attached Images
File Type: png TevionS-VideoMovingPlate.png (303.5 KB, 33 downloads)
File Type: png TevionS-VideoSnellWilcox.png (361.8 KB, 28 downloads)
File Type: png TevionCompositeMovingPlate.png (339.9 KB, 25 downloads)
File Type: png TevionCompositeSnellWilcox.png (409.7 KB, 23 downloads)
  #17  
04-09-2017, 06:48 AM
retartedted retartedted is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
To be fair, beyond the chroma those are pretty good captures.
  #18  
04-09-2017, 07:34 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
It's good for VHS. But since I'll be capturing from LDs, I need full chroma res.
  #19  
04-15-2017, 04:13 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,466
Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,373 Posts
I have a lot of capture cards here -- some are being sold, some being kept -- and I plan to test each of them for you. I'll be PMing you here soon, as I need your test patterns sent via FTP.

The test you've posted here may not be the same as the cards I'm selling. But then, as mentioned, the chroma is fine for VHS. In fact, that's a pretty nice test pattern compared to many.

Edit:

BTW, I had a thought some time back, keep forgetting. Here goes...

If you're using a test DVD (DVD-Video), analog out from a DVD player, then you're testing with a 4:2:0 source, meaning it's been 50% crippled from an 4:2:2 (digital equivalency) source. So when you say the chroma is crippled, it's sort of a "duh" moment. Yes, it is crippled. But it's due to the test, not card.

This is one of many reasons I don't much care for test patterns.

Did you FTP your testing parameters yet? PM me.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
  #20  
04-15-2017, 08:24 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Not yet. I hope to get it soon. But then how come OneTouch VC500, ATI 750, blackmagic give full chroma?
Closed Thread




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For sale: Marantz MV5100 Super VHS VCR (clone of JVC 9000 series) Jpass9992 Marketplace 0 06-28-2015 08:31 PM
Is there burning software that ignores media errors? extreme123 Blank Media 1 07-11-2012 07:44 PM
Yes, if it's not [SOLD], then it should still be available for sale. admin Marketplace 0 05-25-2011 09:26 PM
Macrovision removal filter for $20 [SOLD] lordsmurf Marketplace 7 02-24-2007 05:25 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM