Quantcast Reusing D-VHS Tapes. Good idea; bad idea? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Blank Media

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
06-23-2011, 07:51 PM
Tuco Tuco is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Thanked 30 Times in 19 Posts
I'm new to D-VHS and currently own a Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U for some stubborn VHS tapes. I Noticed some blank D-VHS tapes on Amazon for $20 new and $7 used like-new. My question is: After just glancing over the D-VHS specs, it is my understanding that the bit-for-bit data of the video is all that is stored on the tape, so reusing a previously recorded tape shouldn't have any impact on quality unless the tape is worn out/damaged, correct? Or is my understanding of D-VHS technology flawed?

I'm not looking to do any heavy use; I just want to fool around with it out of curiosity, so if I can get a cheaper used tape, then that would be nice.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-23-2011, 10:16 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,134
Thanked 350 Times in 287 Posts
You can get cheaper used tapes. I got a box of about 70 of them here. The tapes are a MPEG-2 transport stream recorded on the video track. There is no linear audio track, but the standard does use the same control track as analog VHS/SVHS. You can also force most machines to record DVHS onto SVHS tapes. The only weird thing I have encountered was tape playback issues with the tapes I have in HS speed (1080i HD recording, tape runs at the same speed as VHS SP tapes). They were all recorded on a Mitsu HS-HD1100U, but my JVC won't auto track them correctly unless I turn off and reengage the auto tracking. The JVC's internal MPEG2 decoder also won't show video output (decoding issue?) with most of the tapes, I have to use Firewire and VLC to decode them on my PC. Apparently playback of tapes made on one company's DVHS machine wasn't quite compatible with another. Analog playback has no such issues.

Keep in mind that the HS-HD2000U doesn't have any analog to digital encoder like the JVCs for SD video, you must use firewire for all digital recording.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank NJRoadfan for this useful post: Tuco (06-25-2011)
  #3  
06-25-2011, 12:20 AM
Tuco Tuco is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Thanked 30 Times in 19 Posts
Thanks for the info! Yeah, I was already aware of the firewire issue. Maybe now I will actually get to use firewire for the first time since my early 2000's ADVC .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
06-26-2011, 02:28 AM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,314
Thanked 370 Times in 339 Posts
A friend said he used to record MPEG-2 on S-VHS tapes, using a JVC deck. I believe him, he's no dummy. But he also didn't like re-using tapes. I don't believe in re-using tapes either. Of course, that's obviously a problem in an era where new tapes are now harder to come by. But still. Just use your best judgment, and look for problems. If a tape acts up, pitch it. No second chances. (I do the same with wires. You screw up once, you go in the garbage can.)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
d-vhs, tape_media

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blu-Ray homemade discs - Capturing/recording to BD-R a good idea? kctexan Capture, Record, Transfer 14 03-23-2011 12:37 PM
Updating my netbook to 3GB of RAM a good idea? lordsmurf Computers 0 09-08-2010 05:55 AM
Good VCR and DVD recorder for EP tapes? lordsmurf Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-20-2009 06:03 PM
Good Blank DVDs, CDs, tapes lordsmurf Blank Media 15 08-08-2008 01:50 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM