Go Back    Forum > Featured > General Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
09-25-2018, 07:24 AM
Free Member

I am very new to this entire process of capturing VHS tapes and attempting to restore them and save them in the digital world. I would like to get some idea of what type of quality I could get out of the tapes I have captured thus far in the process. Attached is a sample clip. Hopefully I captured it correctly.

Samsung VCR -> Samsung V3650 (TBC) -> VC500 -> VirtualDub (AVI).

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated (see attached clip).

Attached Files
File Type: avi John Clip 2.avi (84.73 MB, 21 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

09-25-2018, 12:47 PM
Premium Member

Thanked 1,308 Times in 982 Posts
Welcome to the forum.
And thank you for the sample.

You appear to be capturing to the preferred format of 720x480 as YUY2 losslessly compressed. Input levels are within the legal range of y-16-235, but I'm not sure how you controlled it. There is hard clipping at y=16 and y=235 in YUV. The VC500 card doesn't do this on its own. It's possible that clipping occurs on the tape itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dbreitbach View Post
I would like to get some idea of what type of quality I could get out of the tapes I have captured thus far
To a great extent I think you can answer that on your own observations, but I'll offer some details. The capture is very poor quality. You can't expect a decent capture from the Samsung player. It's just isn't possible. The DVD/VCR combo can't be used as a pass-thru tbc. Your sample shows there is no tbc correction at all. Scanline errors in the form of ripples, wiggles, warped lines, object displacement, notched and ragged edges and borders, and other distortions are quite severe. These can't be corrected in post processing. Also, a stream of images as disturbed as this works against any attemnpt at denoisers.