Quantcast JVC HR-S7800U S-Video vs Composite Issue - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
04-03-2020, 03:07 PM
cabrower cabrower is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi All, working on an archiving project and semi new to the whole process. I am trying to figure out some quality issues as I go along and I am noticing something I believe is weird with my deck. It is a JVC HR-S7800U. If I use the S-Video output I am getting a few weird artifacts in the image. Both while playing a tape and while in the menus (see attached). While playing a video s-video often displays these weird wiggles throughout the image. You can see almost like horizontal wiggling of the text in the menu. It isn't as bad in composite. But I believe my over all image quality is poor. Can you let me know your thoughts.

I am also capturing with a Diamond VC-500 with Virtual Dub2.


Attached Images
File Type: png s-video (menu).png (369.3 KB, 16 downloads)
File Type: png composite (menu).png (277.8 KB, 13 downloads)
File Type: png composite (capture).png (595.0 KB, 14 downloads)
File Type: png s-video (capture).png (567.3 KB, 16 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-04-2020, 07:47 AM
msgohan msgohan is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,202
Thanked 280 Times in 234 Posts
There's actually no problem here. 100% expected behavior for this VCR & capture device. The S-Video versions are correct in both cases.

The menu is generated as composite inside the VCR and not properly decoded into a separated Y/C signal for the S-Video output. If you search hard enough, you'll find multiple threads confirming that this is normal. JVC (and most VCR mfr's) engineers apparently didn't care to make the menus look nice. In contrast, the Panasonic PV-S4670 is an example of an S-VHS VCR that outputs proper, clean Y/C menus.

Your tape capture is a TV recording with a bunch of artifacts that were recorded to tape from the tuner source. You're not seeing them in the composite capture because the VC500's comb filter sucks. It's smoothing over the whole image including those artifacts; take a look at the text in the bottom right.

A pre-recorded retail Hollywood movie tape should look good. If you have issues getting clean captures from those (apart from copy protection), then there is cause for concern.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: sanlyn (04-04-2020)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S-Video or RCA? (composite) Okiba Capture, Record, Transfer 9 12-06-2019 06:44 PM
ATI 600 USB S-video working, composite not wtgw Capture, Record, Transfer 3 04-30-2017 01:39 PM
BNC composite better than S-Video? vidz_man01 Video Hardware Repair 9 02-18-2015 08:00 AM
S-Video cable or is composite ok? JT_too Capture, Record, Transfer 12 03-04-2013 07:24 AM
VGA to S-Video and/or composite video in one handy cable! *Bix* Tech Myths, Misinformation 1 03-04-2011 06:14 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM