Quantcast Panasonic NV-HS1000 noisy image at start of tapes, random spots? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Hardware Repair

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-28-2018, 09:03 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 407
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
So we got a Panasonic NV-HS1000 a few months ago. Originally it seemed to work fine, but lately it seems to have developed some significant playback issues. It's seems to be most pronounced at the start of tapes, often there is barely any visible image (as if the tracking was way off), but it gradually clears itself after a while. Additionally, the same seems to happen at random spots during playback. My description is may not be the best, so I've attached a video sample of the start of a commercial tape, which works well in the 3 other VCRs I've tested. The problem seems to be generally worse on home tapes (the issue doesn't happen on any other VCRs so I don't think the tapes are the issue). I also noticed when looking through the video before uploading that there is some audio interference at various places, this tape has linear audio. (The picture rolling with he green line is the TVOne TBC freaking out from the bad signal, sorry about that, I can do a new capture without it if it helps.)

I've tried to clean the heads and tape paths, though it doesn't seem to help much. I did accidentally play a tape that left some white gunk in the machine, I suspect that may have caused some issue, or maybe I've misaligned something when cleaning at some point.


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 issue.mp4 (48.13 MB, 17 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-12-2018, 09:15 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 203
Thanked 78 Times in 67 Posts
One time I had an HS1000 that arrived in mint condition that did what you described. The guides were out of adjustment. After adjustment the machine worked perfectly and to this day I don't know what caused this. Maybe an impact during transit?

Maybe yours is the same?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hodgey (03-12-2018)
  #3  
03-12-2018, 09:54 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 407
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
Possibly. It seems to have mostly resolved itself now though after a thorough cleaning, at least for the commercial tape. It may just have been some tapes that were shedding that caused the problems, as they did cause some minor clogs on other machines too. I also found some dust stuck to one of the guides when cleaning, which may have messed with the positioning. Will have to see if it starts happening again with home tapes or not.

-- merged --

Do you have any pointers to checking whether the guides are ok (or does that require an oscilloscope?). The unit still seems to be prone to get what looks like a minor head clog on certain tape spots (much more than any other VCRs we have here) giving a very noisy image similar to the video I posted but clearing up shortly after.

Besides cleaning, I did try to clean under and on the anti-static brush, which seemed to help a bit, but I don't know if i did it correctly. Is there a way to check, like with a multimeter, if it makes good contact, or would that not work?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-13-2018)
  #4  
04-13-2018, 11:16 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 203
Thanked 78 Times in 67 Posts
As long as the contact between the anti static brush and the head is cleaned with something like IPA then that is good enough. It just bleeds static to ground.

As to your problem it may a combination of factors at work. The HS1000 was designed to record and play VHS at maximum quality on new or perfect condition tapes. It is not very tolerant of worn or creased tapes which show larger than normal dropout and lines on screen. I think (only guessing here) that this was done to get the best quality possible, as they thought that most users would not be playing old tapes.

Also for some unknown reason the HS1000 hates TDK SVHS tape stock. Clogs the head repeatedly. I'm not the only one to notice this and I don't know why it happens.

Lastly if the heads are a bit worn the protrusion is less so less self cleaning goes on as well as less contact with the tape across damaged or marginal sections of tape. This manifests as worse clogging and lines on screen.

For worn or dropout infested tapes I turn to my FS200 which often is much better on such tapes (but worse on others).

Hope this helped a little.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hodgey (04-13-2018), lordsmurf (04-13-2018)
  #5  
04-13-2018, 08:49 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,274
Thanked 1,370 Times in 1,205 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasipal View Post
Hope this helped a little.
I always enjoy reading your comments.
Even though I'm a NTSC Panasonic user, sometimes your info can be extrapolated.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-14-2018, 03:43 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 203
Thanked 78 Times in 67 Posts
Only too happy to share what I know. I never could stand those old time technicians who lurked in their smoke filled workshops unwilling to give the smallest bit of help or info to a budding enthusiastic young lad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-14-2018, 08:52 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 407
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
Okay, thanks for the help.

Another maybe silly question while I'm at it. The VCR came with one of these things) rather than the original remote. Generally it works okay, and most of the functionality is accessible on the front panel, but I've used it for manual tracking (I didn't find any way of doing it with the front panel buttons). Now to disable manual tracking and go back to auto-tracking you're supposed to press both tracking buttons on the original remote, but I'm not sure if that works properly with the replacement one. Is there some way to reset the vcr to the default settings, or does the tracking reset itself when a cassette is ejected?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-14-2018, 08:53 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 203
Thanked 78 Times in 67 Posts
Resets every time a tape is inserted.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hodgey (04-14-2018)
  #9  
11-13-2018, 05:19 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 407
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
Another question:
Do these decks have barely any masking/compensation of dropouts, or is something not right with this particular one? Based on the earlier reply from Quasipal I wouldn't expect it to be super advanced, but even my cheap Samsung VHS deck does it much better, these black lines get very visible if the tape is not in superb condition. (And for that matter the AG7350 broadcast deck which I would not expect to be particularly tuned to bad tapes.)

NV-HS1000
TBC3000 NV-HS1000001941.png
Samsung SV-261x
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.

Philips VR1100
Samsung SV-6553X.png


Reply With Quote
  #10  
11-13-2018, 08:49 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 203
Thanked 78 Times in 67 Posts
Sorry but black or grey lines when tape is in poor condition is what these decks do. However, and I don't know if this is a one off, I have an HS1000 as a daily user and plugged in all the time and that hardly shows dropouts. All my othet 'plug in as needed' HS1000's have the lines. So maybe leave it plugged in for a full day or so. That may help.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
11-26-2018, 08:39 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 407
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
It usually is plugged in, so presumably that doesn't help. Looking at the service manual here there does seem to be and older and newer revision (EG vs EGC and B vs BYP) of the NV-HS1000 though, in addition to the differing tuner frequency variations. The newer one has some updated electronics and other components. Is the one you have that hardly shows dropouts the newer revision perhaps? The one we got here is an older (EG) one.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
02-12-2019, 03:37 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 407
Thanked 102 Times in 85 Posts
After digging through the service manual it seems the YNR balance pot controls the amp that amplifies the signal coming from the delay line that is used for dropouts. It was a bit tricky to access, but after a bit of tweaking the dropouts are much less notable. I suppose it may have some impact on on the noise reduction but I didn't really notice any change there.

YNR Pot.jpg

Left: After adjustment - Right Before
Sharpness and levels settings may be a bit different as I didn't remember what it was set to on the before shots. Also I also adjusted the PG shifter a little but this specific tape has a very low switching point already.
You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.

dropout1.jpg


Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
alignment, noise, nv-hs1000, tracking

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic AG-1980 > Canopus ADVC-300 - noisy capture w/artifacts jakezen72 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-20-2016 10:46 PM
Image quality: Panasonic NV-HS1000 vs. NV-HS960B? heym56 General Discussion 7 02-21-2016 05:19 AM
Panasonic AG-5700E vs Panasonic NV-HS1000 for transferring tapes? tsakodim Capture, Record, Transfer 8 12-31-2014 10:00 AM
NV-HS1000 won't eject tapes Medusaman Video Hardware Repair 3 03-12-2013 03:10 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM