Quantcast Panasonic NV-HS1000 noisy image at start of tapes, random spots? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
02-28-2018, 09:03 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 56
Thanks: 9
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
So we got a Panasonic NV-HS1000 a few months ago. Originally it seemed to work fine, but lately it seems to have developed some significant playback issues. It's seems to be most pronounced at the start of tapes, often there is barely any visible image (as if the tracking was way off), but it gradually clears itself after a while. Additionally, the same seems to happen at random spots during playback. My description is may not be the best, so I've attached a video sample of the start of a commercial tape, which works well in the 3 other VCRs I've tested. The problem seems to be generally worse on home tapes (the issue doesn't happen on any other VCRs so I don't think the tapes are the issue). I also noticed when looking through the video before uploading that there is some audio interference at various places, this tape has linear audio. (The picture rolling with he green line is the TVOne TBC freaking out from the bad signal, sorry about that, I can do a new capture without it if it helps.)

I've tried to clean the heads and tape paths, though it doesn't seem to help much. I did accidentally play a tape that left some white gunk in the machine, I suspect that may have caused some issue, or maybe I've misaligned something when cleaning at some point.


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 issue.mp4 (48.13 MB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-12-2018, 09:15 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 177
Thanks: 4
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
One time I had an HS1000 that arrived in mint condition that did what you described. The guides were out of adjustment. After adjustment the machine worked perfectly and to this day I don't know what caused this. Maybe an impact during transit?

Maybe yours is the same?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hodgey (03-12-2018)
  #3  
03-12-2018, 09:54 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 56
Thanks: 9
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Possibly. It seems to have mostly resolved itself now though after a thorough cleaning, at least for the commercial tape. It may just have been some tapes that were shedding that caused the problems, as they did cause some minor clogs on other machines too. I also found some dust stuck to one of the guides when cleaning, which may have messed with the positioning. Will have to see if it starts happening again with home tapes or not.

-- merged --

Do you have any pointers to checking whether the guides are ok (or does that require an oscilloscope?). The unit still seems to be prone to get what looks like a minor head clog on certain tape spots (much more than any other VCRs we have here) giving a very noisy image similar to the video I posted but clearing up shortly after.

Besides cleaning, I did try to clean under and on the anti-static brush, which seemed to help a bit, but I don't know if i did it correctly. Is there a way to check, like with a multimeter, if it makes good contact, or would that not work?
Reply With Quote
The following users thank hodgey for this useful post: lordsmurf (04-13-2018)
  #4  
04-13-2018, 11:16 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 177
Thanks: 4
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
As long as the contact between the anti static brush and the head is cleaned with something like IPA then that is good enough. It just bleeds static to ground.

As to your problem it may a combination of factors at work. The HS1000 was designed to record and play VHS at maximum quality on new or perfect condition tapes. It is not very tolerant of worn or creased tapes which show larger than normal dropout and lines on screen. I think (only guessing here) that this was done to get the best quality possible, as they thought that most users would not be playing old tapes.

Also for some unknown reason the HS1000 hates TDK SVHS tape stock. Clogs the head repeatedly. I'm not the only one to notice this and I don't know why it happens.

Lastly if the heads are a bit worn the protrusion is less so less self cleaning goes on as well as less contact with the tape across damaged or marginal sections of tape. This manifests as worse clogging and lines on screen.

For worn or dropout infested tapes I turn to my FS200 which often is much better on such tapes (but worse on others).

Hope this helped a little.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hodgey (04-13-2018), lordsmurf (04-13-2018)
  #5  
04-13-2018, 08:49 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,822
Thanks: 669
Thanked 1,029 Times in 916 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quasipal View Post
Hope this helped a little.
I always enjoy reading your comments.
Even though I'm a NTSC Panasonic user, sometimes your info can be extrapolated.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-14-2018, 03:43 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 177
Thanks: 4
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
Only too happy to share what I know. I never could stand those old time technicians who lurked in their smoke filled workshops unwilling to give the smallest bit of help or info to a budding enthusiastic young lad.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-14-2018, 08:52 AM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 56
Thanks: 9
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Okay, thanks for the help.

Another maybe silly question while I'm at it. The VCR came with one of these things) rather than the original remote. Generally it works okay, and most of the functionality is accessible on the front panel, but I've used it for manual tracking (I didn't find any way of doing it with the front panel buttons). Now to disable manual tracking and go back to auto-tracking you're supposed to press both tracking buttons on the original remote, but I'm not sure if that works properly with the replacement one. Is there some way to reset the vcr to the default settings, or does the tracking reset itself when a cassette is ejected?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-14-2018, 08:53 AM
Quasipal Quasipal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 177
Thanks: 4
Thanked 68 Times in 59 Posts
Resets every time a tape is inserted.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Quasipal for this useful post: hodgey (04-14-2018)
Reply




Tags
alignment, noise, nv-hs1000, tracking

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panasonic AG-1980 > Canopus ADVC-300 - noisy capture w/artifacts jakezen72 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 07-20-2016 10:46 PM
Image quality: Panasonic NV-HS1000 vs. NV-HS960B? heym56 General Discussion 7 02-21-2016 05:19 AM
Panasonic AG-5700E vs Panasonic NV-HS1000 for transferring tapes? tsakodim Capture, Record, Transfer 8 12-31-2014 10:00 AM
NV-HS1000 won't eject tapes Medusaman Video Hardware Repair 3 03-12-2013 03:10 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd