Quantcast Anyone here used Potplayer for capture? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
09-03-2020, 04:58 PM
DaveT DaveT is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: California
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello

New To Forum.
OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. OLD DELL Precision T3500.

I have installed the Diamond VC500.
Old Panasonic 4 Head VCR PV - V4022- A. RCA Cables.

It worked with EZGrabber Captue device detected.
But I wanted to Try Potplayer.
I Can not Connect to Potplayer. No Video on screen.

Potplayer seems Good but Complex and no Help File.
Searched web. no Help found. Most info was just on Playing
Videos not on VHS Capture. PotPlayer Forum Not Helpful.
Seems to be Locked up.

Anyone here Using Pot Player to Capture VHS Tapes ?
Any Advice would be
Appreciated.

Posted in Free Section.
Decided to Up Grade to Perineum.

DaveT

-- merged --

Hi

Using Diamond VC 500 for Capture.

It Works with EZ Grabber but not Potplayer.

It works with Virtual Dub but not with Potplayer.

Any suggestions ? Other than Use Virtual Dub.

DaveT
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
09-05-2020, 07:09 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,636 Times in 1,419 Posts
This post is confusing.

Isn't Potplayer just playback software? Not capture software? (And even if it did capture, I would imagine it's as lousy as VLC, another player that tries to do non-playback tasks, and fails.)

Why not VirtualDub?

Noting that VC500 is a variable card, both good and bad versions seem to exist. For example, some have a nasty AGC, while others do not. This is the folly of manufacturers that reuse model names/numbers.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
09-06-2020, 03:46 PM
DaveT DaveT is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: California
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
"Isn't Potplayer just playback software?" NO "Not capture software?" It has Capture Also

"(And even if it did capture, I would imagine it's as lousy as VLC, another player that tries to do non-playback tasks, and

fails.)" Why do you think it is Lousy ? ? Has Anyone on the Forum tried it for Capture and Reported Problems ?

Someone recommend I Try it. So Tried to Capture with It. Had Problems and Made My First POST . No Reply

With All of the in depth Knowledge About Capturing VHS on the Forum Just trying to find Some Help.

I do not think the Problem is with the PP Program Just the way I am Connecting to the Capture Device.

Diamond 500. Even if No one on the Forum is Using PP I would Appreciate some detailed info on Connecting

The Capture device to Capture Software in General.

Thanks for your Help. DaveT


Why not VirtualDub?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
09-06-2020, 07:51 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,636 Times in 1,419 Posts
What OS?
And again, what is wrong with VirtualDub?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
09-06-2020, 11:13 PM
DaveT DaveT is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: California
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
From My Original POST

Quote:
Hello

New To Forum.
OS Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. OLD DELL Precision T3500.

I have installed the Diamond VC500.
Old Panasonic 4 Head VCR PV - V4022- A. RCA Cables.

It worked with EZGrabber Captue device detected.
But I wanted to Try Potplayer.
I Can not Connect to Potplayer. No Video on screen.

Potplayer seems Good but Complex and no Help File.
Searched web. no Help found. Most info was just on Playing
Videos not on VHS Capture. PotPlayer Forum Not Helpful.
Seems to be Locked up.

Anyone here Using Pot Player to Capture VHS Tapes ?
Any Advice would be
Appreciated.

Posted in Free Section.
Decided to Up Grade to Perineum.

DaveT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
09-07-2020, 12:10 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 9,640
Thanked 1,636 Times in 1,419 Posts
Alright, so you're using Win10.

BTW, don't re-post in multiple thread. This is precisely why. Details from the 1st thread didn't make it into your 2nd thread. We wasted replies and posts.

Anyway, again ... why not VirtualDub?

PotPlayer does not seem to contain any functionality for analog video capture. I see screen capture options, but that's it. Screen capture is not analog capture.

PotPlayer appears to be one of those programs that doesn't just "install", but octopusses itself into your OS. It has adware, PUPs, and tries to phone home.
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...dware%21/page2

For that reason, I'm not installing it on my main systems. Maybe the dev box, but I'm not able to test with Win7/8/10 right now. It's currently configured for some XP testing.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
09-08-2020, 12:13 AM
DaveT DaveT is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: California
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello
Thanks for your reply.
I saw a Demo of Potplayer used to DL VHS Video
on You Tube. I thought I would give it a try.
If you are interested I Can find the Link. I Heard
that PP had problems in the Early Days. I think they
Have Clean Up their Act. I scanned it with
Malware Bytes, Noting Found.

My main
Problem is No Help File and no documentation.
The web site has a P P Forum it does not seem to
be working very well no Reply to my E Mail.

I have been Reading lots of POSTS on the Forum
on VHS Capture. Very topical situation been wanting
to Convert Old VHS tapes for a long while.
I am very New
at this. I very briefly tried a few captures with different
Programs and the Diamond 500. I did try Virtual Dub
Could not make it work Very Complex Configuration for me
will take while to learn all of of the Terminology.
Potplayer is not a big Deal .
I know you are very busy
So unless you have Quick tip do not waste any more
of your time on it.
Thanks DaveT
Reply With Quote
  #8  
09-08-2020, 09:10 AM
DaveT DaveT is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: California
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello

Set Up for Potplayer Video Recording

Video

Video Recording

Record Video

Thanks Dave T
Reply With Quote
  #9  
09-13-2020, 11:19 AM
DaveT DaveT is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: California
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lordsmurf

Were you able to

Record with Potplayer

useing the above settings ?

DaveT
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potplayer Problem Connecting DaveT Capture, Record, Transfer 0 09-02-2020 11:29 AM
How to play interlaced lossless AVIs in PotPlayer [GUIDE] msgohan General Discussion 5 03-27-2017 04:51 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM