Quantcast Brightness mess when capturing *some* VHS through Sony DCR-TRV33E - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
11-18-2020, 04:19 PM
trotskito trotskito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello everybody,

I've been lately playing around with VHS capture, nothing in professional terms but just an amateur distraction. As I recently learned VHS does degrade over time, I wanted to keep some tapes from my childhood like old Terrytoons cartoons and my beloved Star Wars trilogy.

My equipment is pretty basic, but it works fine for my intentions, as I don't really want to restore or improve quality, just keep it as near to the source as it can:

- Sony DCR-TRV33E paired with a PCI FireWire card as capturing device
- Daewoo ST847S VCR (6 heads)

I've succesfully transfered a couple of tapes. I 've used sclive, Adobe Premiere and now VDub2.

But I'm having some trouble with the Return of the Jedi VHS: While it seems to capture properly, I've noticed that, in some specific parts of the movie, brightness goes up and down, concretely after scene changes.

At first, I thought it was an anty-copy problem, but using a Macrovision box I have didn't change anything. Then I tried with another VCR, an LG C20P, with no change at all except for lower image quality overall. Not to say that the problem does not occur when displaying the VCR through a TV (brightness keeps stable, with any of the VCRs).

The problem is already visible in the Handycam (I can see the brightness fluctuating in its LCD screen), so I guess it has nothing to do with the FireWire cable or card. As others have suggested, it seems to be some kind of brightness 'auto-adjust' that is causing the ups and downs, but it's confusing that it only happens in some movies.

I've read threads of users with similar problems (like this and this) to no conclusion. Even read that people using superior devices such as SVHS with TBC can't get rid of the problem.

I attach a portion of the capture that clearly shows the problem. It was captured with VDub2 and then encoded for uploading with the same program.

Thank you in advance!


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 capture_jedi.mp4 (14.18 MB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-18-2020, 11:00 PM
traal traal is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 109
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
Maybe it's a newer type of Macrovision that your Macrovision box couldn't defeat.

I had a similar problem and a good external TBC fixed it.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank traal for this useful post: trotskito (11-19-2020)
  #3  
11-19-2020, 03:12 AM
trotskito trotskito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi traal,

It's weird because the tape is from 1995 and I'm almost sure I made some VHS copy of it back in the 2000s without this problem.

Sadly, I can't afford a TBC right now, given their prices in the second hand market (ebay, etc).

Could it be that I'm using the Macrovision box not with its original scart cable, but with different RCA ones instead (in order to use the camcorder's RCA-to-minijack cable)?. I attach pictures of both.

I have the original cable, but as it ends in another scart, I cannot use it in the camcorder, unless there's some kind of female scart-to-rca adapter. But, would that make any sense?. Also, maybe the box is broken.

Thanks!


Attached Images
File Type: jpg original cable.jpg (37.4 KB, 2 downloads)
File Type: jpg my cable setup.jpg (72.1 KB, 2 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-19-2020, 06:30 AM
Hushpower Hushpower is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 136
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
If all else fails, buy the DVD and rip it. For not many dollars, you'll end up with a far better copy than a VHS transfer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
11-19-2020, 06:33 AM
trotskito trotskito is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hahah, I already own the DVDs, this is just an unproductive time-consumig-childhood-nostalgia-driven preservation attempt.

But thanks for the advice!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
brightness, handycam, vhs capture

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI clone Tevion USB brightness too high? nullb Capture, Record, Transfer 7 02-04-2020 10:29 AM
Sound mess with 0 frame drops? edoroom Capture, Record, Transfer 0 04-21-2019 05:02 PM
Sony DCR-TRV 460 capturing vertical band? GalileoFigaro Capture, Record, Transfer 5 03-24-2017 04:56 AM
JVC HR-S9911U brightness bug with TBC/DNR JVRaines Video Hardware Repair 0 08-02-2015 01:49 PM
VHS - abnormal brightness tywald Capture, Record, Transfer 13 07-17-2013 10:44 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM