Quantcast Hauppauge USB2 live vs. Elegato video capture? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
04-01-2021, 05:16 AM
Uraz88 Uraz88 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Im wondering which one is the best
Im not looking for a professional hdmi card or whatever
So a perfect one for sp tapes
I own elecrap..ops elegato which elaborate the videos on mp4
A decent result is using s-video
Now im wondering how is the Hauppauge?
I have windows 10 pro

Last edited by Uraz88; 04-01-2021 at 05:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-01-2021, 06:53 AM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 69
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Comparison between the 2 cards in lossless mode:
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...Raw-Comparison

Example of one of my Hauppauge capture in lossless mode:
Good capture cards available in Europe? (s-video, Video8)

Example of one of my Hauppauge capture in mpeg2 mode (something I never use):
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...HS#post2612534

Somebody else here (with crushed whites):
https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...s-video-sample

Many others on DF and VH!

Judge yourself ;-)

Last edited by lollo2; 04-01-2021 at 07:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-02-2021, 03:00 AM
Uraz88 Uraz88 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thank you, i think i will get it because soon also i will get my super vcr
maybe at my opinion hauppauge is better than elegato
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-03-2021, 10:41 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,656
Thanked 1,862 Times in 1,611 Posts
The Elgato is worse.

Not a fan of that exact Hauppauge, but I'm not against it either. It's at low end of (sometimes) acceptable results. Like some Dazzles, or VC500. A primary issues is that Hauppauge would recycle model names/numbers, and have mid-production changes. So that may account for all the varied good/bad feedback on these cards. The same issue afflicts Dazzle and VC500, variable. So you never know what you're getting, how it may react. It's not like ATI 600 USB (or clones), ATI AIW, etc, where output quality is constant.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-03-2021, 10:56 AM
Uraz88 Uraz88 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
The Elgato is worse.

Not a fan of that exact Hauppauge, but I'm not against it either. It's at low end of (sometimes) acceptable results. Like some Dazzles, or VC500. A primary issues is that Hauppauge would recycle model names/numbers, and have mid-production changes. So that may account for all the varied good/bad feedback on these cards. The same issue afflicts Dazzle and VC500, variable. So you never know what you're getting, how it may react. It's not like ATI 600 USB (or clones), ATI AIW, etc, where output quality is constant.
the problem is i cant find anywhere the ATI 600 USB
so the only thing that i can choose is the hauppauge
even if i find the ati 600 usb how i could connect it to my super vcr using s-video?i see that ati 600 have only one input? correct me if im wrong im a noob on this

Ati TV wonder 600 right? usb
https://www.amazon.it/ATI-Wonder-600.../dp/B00138EOH8
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-03-2021, 11:19 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,656
Thanked 1,862 Times in 1,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uraz88 View Post
the problem is i cant find anywhere the ATI 600 USB
http://www.digitalFAQ.com/forum/marketplace

And the cards wasn't sold new in Europe, because it had an NTSC tuner. So you'll have a hard time finding it within Europe. But the tuner is useless anyway, and the s-video/composite works with PAL, NTSC, and some others.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-03-2021, 11:26 AM
Uraz88 Uraz88 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
http://www.digitalFAQ.com/forum/marketplace

And the cards wasn't sold new in Europe, because it had an NTSC tuner. So you'll have a hard time finding it within Europe. But the tuner is useless anyway, and the s-video/composite works with PAL, NTSC, and some others.
thank you!!

i have sent you a private message
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-03-2021, 01:25 PM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 69
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Quote:
Hauppauge would recycle model names/numbers, and have mid-production changes
Maybe the PVR models, never heard of it for the USB-Live 2

Quote:
So that may account for all the varied good/bad feedback on these cards
I never found a bad judgement for the USB-Live 2, except when capturing from composite or when pretending it features jitter correction.

VC500 (similar USB-Live 2 hardware, sanlyn favourite!) had some variants and I found contradictory judgements, probably because the production changes you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-03-2021, 01:43 PM
Uraz88 Uraz88 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post
Maybe the PVR models, never heard of it for the USB-Live 2



I never found a bad judgement for the USB-Live 2, except when capturing from composite or when pretending it features jitter correction.

VC500 (similar USB-Live 2 hardware, sanlyn favourite!) had some variants and I found contradictory judgements, probably because the production changes you mentioned.
I think the model 601 is the best and bit hard to find
Thats why
Maybe the new model usb 2 live is bit bad
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-03-2021, 01:45 PM
lollo2 lollo2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 69
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
They are absolutely the same, just a name change for USA ;-)

In Italy is called Hauppauge WinTV-Live 2
Reply With Quote
  #11  
04-03-2021, 01:52 PM
Uraz88 Uraz88 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Location: Italy
Posts: 45
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lollo2 View Post
They are absolutely the same, just a name change for USA ;-)

In Italy is called Hauppauge WinTV-Live 2
Ah okay but Iím wondering why the model 601 in some web sites costs a lot
Than the usb wintv live 2
Maybe i miss something or..
So both are same
Reply With Quote
  #12  
04-04-2021, 03:17 PM
Bogilein Bogilein is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 175
Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uraz88 View Post
the problem is i cant find anywhere the ATI 600 USB
so the only thing that i can choose is the hauppauge
even if i find the ati 600 usb how i could connect it to my super vcr using s-video?i see that ati 600 have only one input? correct me if im wrong im a noob on this

Ati TV wonder 600 right? usb
https://www.amazon.it/ATI-Wonder-600.../dp/B00138EOH8
I hope if you buy the ATI 600 USB or an ATI AIW that you also buy a TBC. The ATI'S are known for the wrong Macrovision detection even if there is no Macrovision. Just google it. But this is not a bug of the ATI'S is a feature.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
04-04-2021, 04:04 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,656
Thanked 1,862 Times in 1,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogilein View Post
I hope if you buy the ATI 600 USB or an ATI AIW that you also buy a TBC. The ATI'S are known for the wrong Macrovision detection even if there is no Macrovision. Just google it. But this is not a bug of the ATI'S is a feature.
ATI's MV detection is no more or less than anything else. Not other captures cards, DVD recorders, or even VCRs.

Canopus and Matrox get it. Blackmagic especially easily chokes (and has issues even when TBC is present).

Even when "detection" doesn't kick in, actual video errors still cause issues, so TBC is unavoidable.

Beware of just randomly "googling" certain topics, as some comments online are from people that don't know their ass from their elbow. Not just with video, but in general. You always need to vet information.

eBay is a cesspool of stupid. I see so much crap there that has obvious misinformation, but even after vetting eBay items you can get random junk that doesn't work. Some newbies make the bad mistake of being "educated" by eBay listings, but actually walk away dumber. (Non-video, but I recently ordered a belt from there, had the part number. It arrived, and is too narrow, not actually OEM as claimed. I also recently ordered a phone case, and it's too small for the phone. WTF? )

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
04-05-2021, 11:47 AM
Bogilein Bogilein is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 175
Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
This Tevion has the same (??) Empia chipset as the ATI 600 USB. IRE, contrast, color and sharpness are all at good levels.

More interesting, unlike the ATI 600 USB, the Tevion ignores copy protection. I've also seen several instances where tearing was reduced or removed. If you have SP retail tapes, this is a perfect card to have. It may even be better than the ATI 600 USB for this reason. I've never investigated the card internals further, but it must have some sort of minor sync filtering/correction to achieve this feat. (Note: Also, for this reason, it's not an EZcap clone, as that card has quality issues not present here.)

The Tevion doesn't use the ATI Catalyst drivers, but has it's own installer. So no ATI CMC, meaning no MPEG. However, it records really nice Huffyuv lossless AVI captures. Exquisite even! And the ATI drivers can be a PITA at times anyway.

- It works in Windows XP and Vista using the install disc.
- It works in Windows 7, 8, and 10 using the video driver from the disc, and a generic driver in Windows. On Win7/8/10, you must turn the audio down to '1' in the OS (50% value), else it will distort/redline.
Everyone just has a different view of things. The ATI's were known to recognize copy protection even on tapes that had no copy protection. At least the ATI AIW that were available in Germany. Many other cards did not have this feature. The workaround was to use an external TBC.
My advice to order a TBC was well meant because he should know the disadvantages of the recommended card.
But since the post opener doesn't have a big plan which hardware to use if I follow the posts of the last week and none of us knows how the quality of his videotapes is I would recommend him a Panasonic ES10/15 first. This will greatly upgrade the quality of his capture. If he is not satisfied he can always look for a better TBC. The Panasonic DMR's parts are available for little money like sand on the beach here in Europe (Germany).
I know the disadvantages but also the advantages. (Unfortunately the contributions of scharfis brain to the Panasonic ES10 PAL were totally ignored). But since there is no perfect capture hardware with which you can record any tape, this is a good start. There are also enough advanced users who use the DMR's without a DVK or external TBC. You can also read everything here. The hardware must also fit the tapes. Also the often mentioned TBC's are not perfect. But since I know the disadvantages only from reading and hearsay (and I use another external TBC when this is needed) would be only something from the realm of legends and myths.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
04-05-2021, 12:16 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,656
Thanked 1,862 Times in 1,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bogilein View Post
this is a good start.
When you have a small project (<50 tapes), and are on a budget, it is indeed a good start.

Quote:
Also the often mentioned TBC's are not perfect.
There are a few that approach it, all of them rarer models that are rarely seen. Handling luma correctly, even when faced with ugly anti-copy, can be a challenge. Most of those are not mere dumb boxes (ie TBC-1000) with no settings/options.

Quote:
But since I know the disadvantages only from reading and hearsay (and I use another external TBC when this is needed) would be only something from the realm of legends and myths.
It's not myth.

- Posterization can appear like banding, and on the ES10/15 is more visible in dark scenes (like the 1989 Batman movie). VHS should be like 6-bit dithered, but the ES10/15 makes it look like outright 6-bit at times.

- I believe the posterization is due to the NR, which is never fully off (even when "off"). There's also misty ghost-like things going on at times, sort of an after-artifact. The NTSC ES10 is stronger, and as a result so is the NR. The PAL ES10 acts closer to the ES15 that I've seen. Realize that I own PAL and NTSC ES10, and NTSC ES15. I actually have some banding samples from the PAL ES10, along with samples that shows how craptastic Canopus ADVC-300 is on PAL. Just not had time to make those available shareable.

- Panasonic luma is notorious, everything from over/under IRE, to green/red shifts, to overexposure. I've never seen a NTSC Panasonic that doesn't screw up luma. I was actually under the impression that PAL was different, but you pointed out some flaws with PAL Panasonics at least a year ago.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
04-11-2021, 01:09 PM
Bogilein Bogilein is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 175
Thanked 51 Times in 40 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I actually have some banding samples from the PAL ES10, along with samples that shows how craptastic Canopus ADVC-300 is on PAL. Just not had time to make those available shareable.

.
I would like to see the samples not just words to learn something.

I've never said the ES10 is perfect and I rarely use it. But for many users this should mean a huge leap in quality because they often don't know what to look out for and have no way of comparing them with other hardware.

Here is something from the realm of legends and myths because I have neither of the two devices over the recommended TBC's Datavideo-1000 & AVT-8710 (Green).

Written by Mr.Sanlyn (who is a more advanced user here in the forum but has not been active here for a long time, hope that his status has not changed to remembered) from the Videohelp forum:

My AVT-8710 has a distinct effect on hue and saturation, and these issues are not easily correctable, because the effects are totally nonlinear. Certain colors are emphasized, whereas others become faded. It's not hugely obvious if you're just watching the video, but you'll definitely see it in a side-by-side comparison of frames with and without the AVT-8710. It also creates checkerboard artifacts . . .

Answer by Mr. Sanlyn:
I get the same effects from my AVT-8710. You can somewhat mitigate the problem with brights by using the 8710's image controls and lowering contrast. Lowering brightness doesn't help, and the hue control is useless for everything except badly discolored tapes -- but for tapes that bad, you'll have to do additional post-processing to fix the problems. One cause of this bloated brights effects is not just over-brightening the image, but most of the effect seems to be in raising gamma somehow. You can correct this in Avisynth or VirtualDub. I use the 8710 only for Macrovision when the pass-thru doesn't defeat it, although I do have copy protected tapes that went thru my Toshiba with no need for a frame tbc. As I said, copy protection comes in many flavors: you don't know what the effects will be until you try a capture. As for the dot crawl and fine grid you see on the 8710, most denoisers make detail look rather weird when trying to clean it, but I find NeatVideo does a superb job clearing it.
I don't know that the TBC-1000 has any of those same effects, but its image softening was just intolerable to me. I returned it and got the 8710.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use Hauppauge USB Live 2 with OBS? cptsqweky Capture, Record, Transfer 6 02-15-2021 05:08 PM
Hauppauge USB Live-2 skews VCR menu hato Encode, Convert for streaming 1 05-12-2020 08:14 PM
Capture Using VirtualDub with Hauppauge USB Live 2? jdycus Capture, Record, Transfer 2 11-26-2019 07:17 AM
Hauppauge USB-Live 2, VirtualDub unable to start capture? Oakleaf Capture, Record, Transfer 6 05-04-2019 10:38 PM
VirtualDub not displaying video from GV-USB2 capture device? Ivyna_J_Spyder Capture, Record, Transfer 11 10-02-2017 10:54 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM