Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
06-12-2021, 05:46 PM
Free Member

Greetings, this is my first post on this site and I am a newbie when it comes to this topic.

I want to transfer my Hi8 tapes to my computer. Currently, I have a couple of Hi8 camcorders as well as a Sony Gv-S50 (Video Walkman). All I have as a capture device is a cheapo “easycap” usb dongle. I’ve used this to transfer my MiniDV tapes with minimal problems (I know it’s not the best choice, but it worked..). Quickly realized that I cannot simply convert my Hi8 tapes by plugging in directly to the capture device, the resulting image is catastrophic (endless distortion and dropouts).

I assume that I need to run it through a TBC and that would solve my problem. I was thinking about purchasing a DVD/VHS recorder and having a workflow like this: Hi8 camcorder or Video Walkman - DVD/VHS recorder - capture card - computer. I am just wondering - would the built in TBC work it’s magic on my video signal simply be me running through the DVD recorder external in - external output?

The DVD recorder that I have found being sold locally is a Panasonic DMR-E150V, it seems as though all results that come up from a google search are in Japanese. I have translated and the list of specs say it has “3D digital Y / C separation, external input TBC”.

If anyone could let me know if I have the right idea and if this would work, I would really appreciate it!

Attached Images
File Type: jpeg 00644E55-D152-4106-8230-B814F13C9B95.jpeg (38.8 KB, 6 downloads)
File Type: jpg 8FCE837E-29E5-43C0-B473-C4C00DCD1CD7.jpg (69.1 KB, 5 downloads)
File Type: jpg 897017D6-7128-4D3C-A229-9FEEEE0C58F0.jpg (28.8 KB, 5 downloads)
File Type: jpg D881B1DE-883E-457D-BD36-4B1DD78A839E.jpg (36.4 KB, 6 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

06-12-2021, 06:41 PM
Free Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomorrowneverknows View Post