Quantcast External proc amp: changing levels, legal range 16-235? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
02-22-2022, 03:05 PM
ThumperStrauss ThumperStrauss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 74
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The Datavideo DVK-200 has a proc amp and allows one to adjust the brightness, contrast, tint, and color saturation. When I adjust the brightness or contrast while looking at the VirtualDub1911 histogram (after cropping, etc.) I notice that the histogram level never goes into the left or right red zones.

Question #1: Is this normal behavior for any external proc amp? Do these devices somehow prevent illegal levels, even on super bright scenes? I'm a newbie to external proc amps and just trying to understand.

FYI, my VirtualDub1911 Levels are set to Brightness 147 and Contrast 106 because I have an ATI AIW 9600XT and Sanlyn recommends these settings for this capture card.

Question #2: Does one always need to set the VirtualDub levels to these values, even when one uses an external proc amp? Or should the levels be at 128, with all adjustments in the external proc amp?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
02-22-2022, 05:13 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,323
Thanked 329 Times in 274 Posts
Can you make it go into the red zone without the proc amp in-line? I would expect the capture device driver to be what's limiting the output to 16-235.

For question 2, I would set the capture device levels to their defaults and then leave adjustments to the external proc amp.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
02-22-2022, 05:51 PM
ThumperStrauss ThumperStrauss is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 74
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Yes, I can make output go into the red zones using the Levels screen in VirtualDub1911. I just can't seem to trigger the red zone when adjusting the brightness or contrast on the external proc amp.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
aiw 9600xt, dvk-200, proc amp

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting Capture Levels Right (Proc Amp Settings) ehbowen Capture, Record, Transfer 2 04-24-2019 09:45 PM
Is this an example of AGC changing levels, VC500 card? stevevid Capture, Record, Transfer 10 09-15-2018 02:27 PM
Capture whole tape with one set levels, or different levels per scene? stevevid Capture, Record, Transfer 5 08-22-2018 11:29 PM
Optimizing AIW proc amp levels for every capture kooz Capture, Record, Transfer 6 03-19-2017 10:34 PM
External proc amp, converter, TBC, Snell & Wilcox, Kramer? Mejnour General Discussion 10 01-20-2016 02:32 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM