Quantcast No sound on ATI All In Wonder capture? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
06-26-2010, 07:10 AM
bbartley9 bbartley9 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 23
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via AIM to bbartley9
Just to clarify, do I need this audio connection (external or internal) for proper capture, or is it only needed to play back sound into the computer's speakers when viewing live? My first capture did not have audio, so I was thinking this connection is needed (ie, SW is grabbing the sound from the system's audio card rather than over AGP bus from Radeon card)


This question was asked in a private message. Rather than hide our tech advice in private conversations, Site Staff will often answer PMs (from any site) here in the digitalFAQ.com forum, so that others may read and benefit from our expertise. Please continue the conversation here. Either login or join as a Free Member, and we can continue troubleshooting your video, photo or web related issue. Thanks for understanding our tech Q&A policies.

Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
06-27-2010, 06:35 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 581 Times in 435 Posts
The sound card is needed for audio. The ATI All In Wonder (AIW Radeon) cards only capture and record the video, using its hybrid hardware/software recording.

It only goes over the AGP bus if there is an internal wiring connection made.

Otherwise you have to do a loop-back from the audio card "line out" to the black ATI "output" bundle. That audio is actually an input, although most other wires on the squid are outputs for TV out (s-video and composite), as well as an SPDIF audio connector. Since I don't have any SPDIF, in or out, I don't recall if that's an SPDIF input or output.

... Let me take the side off my computer and take some photos for you...
... A benefit of being Premium Member, I'll add!

Alright, here we go...

Ideally, you want the internal connection. Here's a close-up of the insides of one of my systems, with the ATI All In Wonder 9600 Pro Radeon AGP card on top, and the Turtle Beach PCI audio card directly underneath it. It's connect by a 4-pin audio cable, with most of the cable tied into a coil because the distance is so short.

ati-audiointernals.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


And then for illustration only, I've plugged in the audio bundle to the back of another system, which has an ATI AIW 9200 card. This one shows the audio looping out of the soundcard, and back into the capture card via the ATI "output bundle" (a squid of black wires).

ati-audiointernals-highlighted.jpg

You must be logged in to view this content; either login or register for the forum. The attached screen shots, before/after images, photos and graphics are created/posted for the benefit of site members. And you are invited to join our digital media community.


I don't actually use this method -- all systems are internally wired.

Internally wired audio comes across the AUX channel in most cases. You'll need to be sure the ATI AIW card is set up correctly, using the Initialization Wizard found in the settings (checkbox) of ATI MMC (TV icon).

Some of this has already been discussed on the ATI All In Wonder capture guides --
-- specifically the sound setup guide at: http://www.digitalFAQ.com/guides/vid...d-settings.htm

If you need more help, just ask.



- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: mlongue1 (12-11-2010)
  #3  
06-27-2010, 07:19 PM
bbartley9 bbartley9 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 23
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via AIM to bbartley9
Excellent ... thanks! And the photos are very helpful. I need to grab a PCI sound card, since this PC only has onboard integrated audio right now, and the internal audio connector is hooked to the DVD drive's output.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank bbartley9 for this useful post: mlongue1 (12-11-2010)
  #4  
06-29-2010, 08:48 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 581 Times in 435 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbartley9 View Post
Excellent ... thanks! And the photos are very helpful. I need to grab a PCI sound card, since this PC only has onboard integrated audio right now, and the internal audio connector is hooked to the DVD drive's output.
There's really not much point in having the audio connector hooked up to an optical drive. Nobody uses it anyway. That wiring option exists for systems where the analog audio is piped directly into a soundcard from an audio CD. For more than a decade now, all audio tends to be run through digital audio extraction, and software modulated with a media player, bypassing that wire. I haven't seen drives with integrated headphone/speaker options in years now, the most common use of that wiring connection.

Note that I may be fumbling some of the terms here (it's been a long time). If nothing else, know that such a connection hasn't really been needed since the 1990s.

But...

All this said, however, you're better off with dedicated audio cards. Integrated cards are a common cause of audio sync issues and dropped frames.

I highly suggest a Creative Labs Sound Blaster card. You can get them at good prices from Amazon. Looking right now, I see cards from $3 used (plus shipping) up to the normal $50 range. That's what I'd buy.
Unfortunately, they don't seem to make Turtle Beach PCI audio cards anymore. (There's a few at Amazon, but I don't necessarily suggest those exact models. Not that they're bad, but just that I've not tested them in an ATI setup before.) The Santa Cruz cards were perfect in ATI systems. Maybe the other ones are, too?

Hope that helps.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: mlongue1 (12-11-2010)
  #5  
07-20-2010, 11:08 PM
bbartley9 bbartley9 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 23
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via AIM to bbartley9
Got the cables hooked up (ATI AIW 9000 to sound card Aux input) and figured out the sound/mixer controls in Windows for my sound card (Diamond XS5.1). I am noticing the recorded/captured sound and playback/speaker sound coming from my AV source (VCR right now) has distortion, the kind you get when a speaker is overdriving. I followed the online guide for audio, adjusted the rec volume and playback volume to try to find a sweet spot, but it just always has this distortion in the louder moments. My sound card sounds great playing a CD, and I even checked it's line-in input with another audio source and that sounded clean. So I am suspecting the AIW card CD-out connector is coming out too hot for the sound card Aux input.

I also tried the AIW output cable (external) connection to the sound card's Line-In, and I get slightly less distorted audio, but still the same kind of thing. The original source audio out of the VCR still sounds much cleaner when played right into a TV set, versus over the purple cable into AIW and then out of the computer speakers (or in the captured AVI).

Are there any other AIW settings I need to look at, to control the level going out over the internal cable? I don't see much in the TV settings to control audio, except sample rate (I'm using 48k and 16 bit).
Reply With Quote
The following users thank bbartley9 for this useful post: mlongue1 (12-11-2010)
  #6  
07-21-2010, 01:31 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 581 Times in 435 Posts
It's something with your audio card. Lower the volume for audio and video down to about 50% and then mute unused audio. You really only need Master, Wave and the one recording channel. Be sure all of them are set to 50%.

Also be sure you're not using a microphone port, or that it's not in some sort of "microphone mode" if it only has a single input. All cards appear slightly different in the Volume Control, and some have custom systray software (the icons by your clock) for various controls/features, so I don't have too many details to help you.

You've not missed anything in the ATI software.

The VCR may be the problem, too. Testing another source in the Line In of the audio card doesn't really prove anything. You'd have to plug the VCR into the Line In directly, bypassing the AIW hardware, to compare. For this, you'd need RCA-to-mini adapters or wires (from somewhere like Radio Shack). But the AIW wiring just passes the audio, it's not attenuating anything. So those tests are unlikely to give results pointing at ATI hardware/software faults.

Your wires could also be bad (not the ATI wires, the other wires from the VCR).

Are you using a PCI audio card, or is this still the built-in audio on the motherboard? (If so, know this is a common issue with motherboard audio -- they're just not very well made.)

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
The following users thank admin for this useful post: mlongue1 (12-11-2010)
  #7  
01-31-2013, 02:05 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Hello,

Your internal wiring setting seem to work for me, otherwise I will not have audio when capturing with virtual dub.

Is it normal that the only way to get audio when capturing is when I chose "Recording device" as audio capture peripheric. The 2 others choice are ATI rage and SB live. I tried to understand how the sound path work.

If I am correct the audio pass first by ATI rage that is link 2)SB live and then to the recording device??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
02-01-2013, 03:20 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,241
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
The sound path on every computer, because of differing hardware, is almost unique. Sometimes it cam take a while to figure out.
So the answer to your question is (1) It depends, and (2) I think so.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: Mejnour (02-01-2013)
  #9  
02-01-2013, 05:36 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpmedia View Post
The sound path on every computer, because of differing hardware, is almost unique. Sometimes it cam take a while to figure out.
So the answer to your question is (1) It depends, and (2) I think so.
According to what I read on digitalfaq, a good sound car is a must, but now, according to your answer, I have no certitude that the sound path is as it should be i.e. optimal
Reply With Quote
  #10  
02-01-2013, 10:27 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,241
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
A good sound card is required -- yes, check.

But the sound cards vary. Some, for example, come with built in ways to hear the audio while you capture on VirtualDub. Others do not. I know -- it's complicated to explain. You almost have to see a half dozen different systems in action to understand. I'd literally have to see your system, even the OS version and drivers versions it's using, to give that level of help. Audio cards are actually more challenging that video cards, because there's so many out there.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank kpmedia for this useful post: Mejnour (02-02-2013)
  #11  
02-02-2013, 02:03 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 275
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpmedia View Post
A good sound card is required -- yes, check.

But the sound cards vary. Some, for example, come with built in ways to hear the audio while you capture on VirtualDub. Others do not. I know -- it's complicated to explain. You almost have to see a half dozen different systems in action to understand. I'd literally have to see your system, even the OS version and drivers versions it's using, to give that level of help. Audio cards are actually more challenging that video cards, because there's so many out there.
I guess I will have to do some experiments!

If I knew in what I was going into when I began this project, I will have think about it twice!

Just kidding
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16mm film capture, how to add sound track? smile Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-12-2018 05:15 AM
Capture mini DV tapes with broken sound agios59 Capture, Record, Transfer 3 03-28-2010 04:37 PM
Sound Problems during Capture Tom_n_Jonna Capture, Record, Transfer 2 02-01-2007 09:14 PM
No sound with MP2 capture, ATI MMC problems progressor Capture, Record, Transfer 7 07-15-2005 10:07 AM
How to capture video/sound via ATI AIW? thienng Capture, Record, Transfer 4 07-23-2004 12:56 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM