Quantcast Capturing - audio card question - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-15-2006, 11:06 AM
lookouts lookouts is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I followed all of the steps in the audio/sync guide, but always get audio from a capture that's out-of-sync with the video. (Usually running ahead of the video.)

The MMC software test process says that my card has a clock innacuracy of +%-...Could it have something to do with my M-Audio Delta 2496 card? Would it be worth getting different card? This card is supposed to be low-latency, and works well when playing music with a MIDI keyboard.

I'm starting to think it has something to do with another problem I was having with my AVIs showing 30 FPS instead of 29.97...
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-15-2006, 09:57 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 633 Times in 452 Posts
Ewww.... yeah ...... definitely an issue with the audio card. That one did not even cross my mind, glad you caught it. I've not seen an audio card cause that error in at least 2 years now, erratic framerates, but it happens.

Get yourself a PCI audio card from either Creative or Turtle Beach. I tend to prefer Turtle Beach cards these days. Creative SoundBlasters can be a pain to install sometimes (not sure why), and Creative Audigy cards are really uncooperative with video capture cards.

In my two ATI AIW setups, I have a SoundBlaster Live that's about 5 years old and works okay, and then I have a Turtle Beach Santa Cruz card in my primary system.

Pretty much any card will run you $25-50, don't spend less, don't spend more. My local Circuit City actually had some TB Santa Cruz cards on clearance a while back, for like $20-25 range. Fry's caries them too. Best Buy seems to only carry Creative cards, mostly Audigy. Walmart has some of the non-Audigy Creative cards for about $25 also.


- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-18-2006, 07:28 AM
lookouts lookouts is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Would a Turtle Beach Catalina or Riviera suffice? The only place I've found the Santa Cruz was on ebay, and Bestbuy's website shows that they have Catalina/Riviera sc's, but I don't know about in-store.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-18-2006, 08:16 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,337
Thanked 633 Times in 452 Posts
I'm sure either the Catalina or Riviera would be fine.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capturing fortunec00kie Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-03-2005 03:12 AM
Sound Card / Digital Audio Cables CaZeek Capture, Record, Transfer 3 12-13-2004 10:58 AM
Capturing 16:9 Hambcastle Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-14-2004 02:35 AM
Capturing Digital Cable with ATI AIW card JimGorsline Capture, Record, Transfer 1 07-08-2004 12:58 AM
DV capturing questions myron Capture, Record, Transfer 1 05-07-2004 10:37 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM