Quantcast Transferring SECAM VHS tapes with a capture card, need some help... - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
04-09-2012, 12:09 AM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 98
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Hi, I wanted to try a secam vhs cideo capture today without using the buit in converter in my universal vhs player. The only thing is I my capture card (Diamond/ATI TV wonder hd 750) can't record secam videos on composite/svhs mode. I would like to try on tv mode with a coaxial cable, but I don't know how to configure the capture software (Power Director, the only one I was able work with since virtualdub never worked with the card) to be able to do so.

If anybody can help me with this, that will be greatly appreaciated.

Thanks to answer

Last edited by monks19; 04-09-2012 at 12:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-09-2012, 02:28 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,291
Thanked 356 Times in 332 Posts
The card probably doesn't work with SECAM format. Most don't.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-09-2012, 08:11 PM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 98
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Ok, is there some good cards that you can recommand me to achieve this ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-10-2012, 12:56 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,291
Thanked 356 Times in 332 Posts
The only cards I know of off-hand are the ATI All In Wonder Radeon series (PCI, AGP, PCI-Express) video capturing cards, as based on the Rage Theatre and Theatre 200 chipsets, and when using ATI MMC or VirtualDub for capturing the video.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-10-2012, 03:32 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by monks19 View Post
Ok, is there some good cards that you can recommand me to achieve this ?
If you can find LifeView FlyVideo 3000 (http://www.videohelp.com/capturecard...video-3000/142), and then use this program:

http://auzol.narod.ru/index_e.html,

this would give you the best SECAM capture. The guy who made this program focused especially on SECAM capture. But this card has been discontinued for a long time. And the guy doesn't support his software. However, if you find the card, you contact me, I might be able to help you with setup.

--Leonid
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-10-2012, 05:19 PM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 98
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Ok, any other options ? I have a big collection of secam vhs of rares films and tv stuff That I woul fiketo transfer as soon as possible.

Thanks to answer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-10-2012, 06:17 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by monks19 View Post
Ok, any other options ? I have a big collection of secam vhs of rares films and tv stuff That I woul fiketo transfer as soon as possible.

Thanks to answer
Canopus ADVC-300 can handle SECAM but it can't do uncompressed. It transfers to DV AVI (DV codec is 5 to 1 compression).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-10-2012, 06:21 PM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 98
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
ok. How's the conversion secam to pal with a universal vhs player ? Is it bad ? Which is preferable ?

Thanks to let me know
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-10-2012, 07:19 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by monks19 View Post
ok. How's the conversion secam to pal with a universal vhs player ? Is it bad ? Which is preferable ?

Thanks to let me know
Both of my VCRs handle SECAM, so I never used SECAM->PAL conversion, but I would always do it direct.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-12-2012, 11:01 PM
monks19 monks19 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 98
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
kpmedia, can you recommant me a good avalaible card among de brand you mentioned, please ?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with SECAM VHS playback / tape capture monks19 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 03-04-2012 10:04 PM
Capture card and setup advice, what's best to convert 80 VHS tapes ? volksjager Capture, Record, Transfer 14 02-20-2012 09:28 PM
Video capture project, what direction is best? + Proc amp vs TBC + Best capture card? admin Project Planning, Workflows 11 06-16-2011 09:35 AM
ATI All In Wonder video capture card, with capture computer, for sale [SOLD] kpmedia Marketplace 1 05-23-2011 02:09 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM