Quantcast ATI 600 USB cripples chroma resolution? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
03-05-2013, 12:33 PM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I see that the ATI 600 USB capture card is often recommended around these parts.

The chroma resolution demonstrated in the following post looks terrible. http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/3...=1#post2038325
In particular, look at this s-video=>ATI 600 USB sample from the post: http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/7...600svideos.png

The colored lines at the bottom (indicating the chroma resolution) are all blurred and nasty looking. They're supposed to look like this: http://forum.lddb.com/viewtopic.php?p=33347#p33347

Is it possible that the user, vaporeon800, was using a crappy DVD player that doesn't output full chroma resolution over s-video?

Can someone capture the Snell & Wilcox Zone Plate from DVE with their ATI 600 USB via s-video using a DVD player that outputs full chroma resolution over s-video and post the PNG(s) here?

"The Cosmos is all that is or was or ever will be." –Carl Sagan
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
03-05-2013, 01:47 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
I don't have any Snell & Willcox gear to test with.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
03-05-2013, 01:50 PM
NJRoadfan NJRoadfan is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,036
Thanked 320 Times in 262 Posts
Keep in mind that the screenshots from that thread were from a custom "test" DVD. There are no motion test patterns on it. The link to download it is buried in that forum somewhere. Don't rule out color errors due to the card's onboard proc amp settings. I have a ATI 600 USB here that I can test, but I bet the default settings need a slight boost in the color setting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
03-05-2013, 01:59 PM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lordsmurf:
I can provide an m2v from Digital Video Essentials of the Snell & Wilcox Zone Plate if you'd be willing to burn it to DVD to run it through the ATI 600 USB.
Does sharing a small portion of a program like this for non-profit purposes fit under fair use?

NJRoadfan:
Oh, I didn't realize that he wasn't using the Snell & Wilcox Zone Plate from the Digital Video Essentials DVD!
That's what I used for my test here: http://forum.lddb.com/viewtopic.php?p=33347#p33347
Would you like the m2v as well? I can upload it to my Dropbox and share the link with you and lordsmurf when I get home in a couple of hours.

"The Cosmos is all that is or was or ever will be." –Carl Sagan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
03-05-2013, 02:35 PM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Site Staff | Web Development
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,368
Thanked 586 Times in 438 Posts
Upload it. I'll copy it to CDN4 on our servers. Or if it's under 32MB, attach to the forum post.
Thanks.

- Did this site help you? Then upgrade to Premium Member and show your support!
- Also: Like Us on Facebook for special DVD/Blu-ray news and deals!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
03-05-2013, 02:38 PM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
admin: Will do. I'll have to wait until I get home in a few hours to do so, however.
Is there any interest in the PAL version? I have both the NTSC and PAL DVDs of Digital Video Essentials.
Also, I forgot to ask: Does the ATI 600 USB make use of any AGC?

I've attached the m2v to this post.
The CRC-32 is: CC83D8C2

Edit: Anyone have any luck with the m2v I posted?


Attached Files
File Type: m2v DVE15_6.m2v (9.15 MB, 15 downloads)

"The Cosmos is all that is or was or ever will be." –Carl Sagan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
03-07-2013, 11:48 PM
JMP's Avatar
JMP JMP is offline
Former Site Staff | Computers
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 171
Thanked 19 Times in 14 Posts
Will be taking a look at it sometime this weekend.

-JMP

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Check out my latest Editorial.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
03-08-2013, 09:09 AM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMP View Post
Will be taking a look at it sometime this weekend.

-JMP
Awesome, thanks! I appreciate it!

<greedy>You wouldn't happen to have a BT878-based capture card lying around as well, would you?</greedy>
Reply With Quote
  #9  
03-08-2013, 01:37 PM
kpmedia's Avatar
kpmedia kpmedia is offline
Site Staff | Web Hosting, Photo
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4,247
Thanked 354 Times in 332 Posts
There's a BT8x8 here.

But we're in the middle of projects, so give us some time. We'll do it between tasks.
It'll probably be a few days.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Please Like Us on Facebook | Follow Us on Twitter

- Need a good web host? Ask me for help! Get the shared, VPS, semi-dedicated, cloud, or reseller you need.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
03-08-2013, 01:39 PM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpmedia View Post
There's a BT8x8 here.

But we're in the middle of projects, so give us some time. We'll do it between tasks.
It'll probably be a few days.
That's awesome. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
03-10-2013, 11:45 PM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just won an ATI 600 on eBay for $16.50. I'll post my findings here when it arrives.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
03-11-2013, 12:08 AM
Jarvis Jarvis is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntcuFaalb View Post
I just won an ATI 600 on eBay for $16.50. I'll post my findings here when it arrives.
Nice, I'm interested in the results. I'd also like to perform a test with my own ATI 600, could you please provide the S&W PAL version?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
03-11-2013, 12:53 AM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarvis View Post
Nice, I'm interested in the results. I'd also like to perform a test with my own ATI 600, could you please provide the S&W PAL version?
Sure. I'll post it this evening (~7PM EST).
Reply With Quote
  #14  
03-16-2013, 04:05 AM
msgohan msgohan is online now
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 894
Thanked 202 Times in 176 Posts
I hope you don't feel that you wasted your money. I captured these files for my own testing a week prior to your question, but had expected someone else to come forward to answer your question right away since the ATI 600 is so common on this forum.

I am the one who started that VideoHelp thread. As mentioned there, the "MiscTestPatterns" stills were played back on a Philips DVP642, which retailed for something like $80-100 when it came out with the main selling point being XviD and DivX playback.

I don't have access to that one right now, in fact I bought a $30 crappy import from Wal-Mart to use for testing purposes and it has the weird image-duplication issue you see at the left of the frames. I returned it.

DVP642 -> S-Video


Wal-Mart crap -> Composite


Wal-Mart crap -> Composite into DMR -> S-Video


Reply With Quote
The following users thank msgohan for this useful post: AntcuFaalb (03-21-2013), kpmedia (03-16-2013)
  #15  
03-21-2013, 01:29 PM
AntcuFaalb AntcuFaalb is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Columbia, MD (USA)
Posts: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for posting those images, msgohan.

Unfortunately, I'm seeing the same poor chroma over s-video. I double-checked and my Panasonic DVD-S29 definitely outputs full chroma resolution without any Y/C delay over s-video, so it's something wrong with the ATI 600.

Interestingly, the chroma looks fine (despite dot crawl) in your composite capture. Weird...

I'll stick with my Hauppauge USB-Live2 (Conexant CX23102 chip), as it captures full NTSC luma and chroma resolution.

"The Cosmos is all that is or was or ever will be." –Carl Sagan
Reply With Quote
  #16  
01-30-2015, 02:08 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I was wondering if chrippled chroma is the case for all ATI 600 USB cards. I had the one from Diamond Multimedia. But I'm wondering if the same products from VisionTek one suffers from the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
02-08-2015, 11:10 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,516
Thanked 1,397 Times in 1,227 Posts
I often think there are variations on the chips used, as the ATI 600 USB had a long release period, and was rebadged by several brands. That's common, as we've seen with AVT-8710 TBCs or Panasonic AG-1980P VCRs. The TBC, as you know, got worse over time. There's a chance that the ATI had a similar problem, either getting better or worse (due to chips in use at the time).

Hmmm...

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
02-09-2015, 12:09 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I often think there are variations on the chips used, as the ATI 600 USB had a long release period, and was rebadged by several brands. That's common, as we've seen with AVT-8710 TBCs or Panasonic AG-1980P VCRs. The TBC, as you know, got worse over time. There's a chance that the ATI had a similar problem, either getting better or worse (due to chips in use at the time).

Hmmm...
It is possible. And if so, I'd definitely want to check out the one with the chipset that doesn't cripple chroma.

However, there's another possibility that all of the versions of this card are like that. And that nobody ran this card against the snell and wilcox test pattern to determine this. And for VHS it is still perfect 'cause VHS doesn't have full chroma to begin with. But since I plan on using this to capture from LaserDiscs, it's not acceptable for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
ati 600 usb, chroma, resolution, snell & wilcox, zone plate

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are VHS Chroma Flaws? How to Fix Them? lordsmurf Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 4 07-17-2018 06:21 PM
VHS Capture with VirtualDub - are these chroma flaws? knumag Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-25-2014 11:17 AM
The Purpose of Virtualdub's Chroma Smoother tool? Belmont Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 5 07-19-2012 01:20 AM
Virtualdub and chroma interlacing unclescoob Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 6 10-25-2011 11:12 AM
FOR.A brand TBC FA-800A, chroma cleanup? deter Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 2 01-15-2010 04:29 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM