Quantcast Audio recording level varies in ATI 600 USB - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
10-03-2013, 12:48 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
It looks like the recording level for ATI 600 USB is not constant. This is not good. It's like AGC in video. For home made videos this is acceptable, but if you record music, you want to keep your recording level the same way as that on original source. Is there any way to make it constant? I determined this in a simple way. I captured an entire concert from a laser disc. Then I captured just the last 2 minutes of the same concert to sync the audio (I always do it). When I compared the same parts of the concert in SoundForge from these 2 takes, I found that the recording level of the 1st take was significantly lower that that of the 2nd take. Please advise. Thanks.

And one more thing. Do I need to check the checkbox sync audio to video in VirtualDub for this device? Since audio and video capture is done by the same device, shouldn't it be synced automatically?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
10-03-2013, 08:31 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,694
Thanked 2,138 Times in 1,839 Posts
I've never seen this. Is the concert perhaps too high, and the ATI 600 USB is compensating to make sure it doesn't clip? That's possible. (And a good thing, if it does exist!)

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
10-03-2013, 09:28 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordsmurf View Post
I've never seen this. Is the concert perhaps too high, and the ATI 600 USB is compensating to make sure it doesn't clip? That's possible. (And a good thing, if it does exist!)
No. Not too high. I even deliberately put resistors on RCA audio that lower the volume by about 3-5 dBs. I will be using digital audio anyway that I will be capturing into another computer via optical toss-link, but thought I would share this.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HR-S8600EU low audio output level? (JVC VCR) Tomas84 Video Hardware Repair 1 11-28-2012 07:10 PM
Brightness level decreases each time when recording? via Email or PM Capture, Record, Transfer 5 11-18-2012 06:42 PM
Proper black level setup 777sp2 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 12-04-2005 04:14 PM
MP3 recording question!!!!!! MOTUfan Edit Video, Audio 2 11-21-2005 05:17 PM
Black level (IRE) and YUV clamping talks admin Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 0 02-20-2005 03:54 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM