Quantcast Transfer vs. Capture with Canopus ADVC 110 - Final Cut is re-encoding? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
11-17-2013, 08:01 PM
Johntomk Johntomk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,

I am currently transferring old home videos to digital. I am wanting to archive them on my hard drive. I am using a Panasonic AG-1980 deck and a Canopus advc110 capture card. My source materials are on VHS-C tapes. I have been messing with Final Cut Express to capture the footage. I have just been experimenting so far. From my understanding, there is a difference between capturing and transferring the DV data from the Canopus. The way I understand it is when I use final cut express to capture the DV from the Canopus, FCE is actually re-encoding the DV signal from the Canopus. Thus, it is encoded twice. How do I transfer the raw DV data from the Canopus to my hard drive? What software should I use? I have seen suggestions for Windows but not for mac. Also, since my source is pretty low quality, would there be any benefit to switching to a lossless format capture (I am not concerned about storage space. It is not a problem.). These tapes are from around 1989-1992 so the video quality is pretty low anyway. Thanks!!!!

John
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-17-2013, 08:34 PM
volksjager volksjager is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,023
Thanked 206 Times in 189 Posts
you are losing quality both by using a Canopus device and using a Mac.
DV is 4:1:1 which is awful
use a Windows PC and capture lossless with Virtualdub
also you should get a external TBC like the datavideo TBC-1000
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-17-2013, 09:12 PM
Johntomk Johntomk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you! As of right now, mac may be my only option unfortunately. Is there any software that can be used to transfer the raw DV data from the Canopus?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trying to capture analog video tapes to digital with Canopus ADVC AVNorm Capture, Record, Transfer 3 02-25-2014 03:17 AM
ATI 600 USB vs. Canopus ADVC capture cards tomswift Capture, Record, Transfer 12 09-26-2013 11:40 PM
Philips SAA7130HL Chip Capture Card vs ATI and Canopus ADVC naripeddi Capture, Record, Transfer 7 12-06-2011 07:42 PM
Canopus ADVC 110 DV video capture card, for sale [SOLD] kaliree Marketplace 2 02-25-2011 08:39 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM