Quantcast VirtualDub has no inserted frames with preview turned off? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
12-05-2014, 09:11 PM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 63
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have been using Virtualdub for a couple weeks to import VHS tapes into my PC with an ATI 600 USB device. Some were fine, some had Frames dropped, and some had Frames inserted, and some had both. I had a tape that had just Frames Inserted. About 26 of them. Happened twice. Here's the challenge. I cleaned off my hard drive, and set "No Display" on the video tab. The tape went thru without any Frames Inserted this time. Does turning off the display disable VirtualDub's process for Frames inserted and dropped frame detection? Or was the cleaning and defragging of the hard drive and possibly turning off the preview window just beneficial in the import process?

Thanks.

JR
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
12-06-2014, 06:20 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,244 Times in 970 Posts
I figured it would come down to looking over the Virtualdub settings. I forget, but aren't you using a laptop (I wouldn't wish that on anyone) or the same hard drive as your OS (ditto)? Yes, defrag helps, turning off internet network connection (just unplugging doesn't help, the system still keeps searching for a connection), and all that. Turning off Preview is also a big step -- it seems to be designed for "preview", i.e, adjusting and whatnot rather than actual capture -- I've crashed VDub several times trying to capture and forgetting to turn Preview off on my older 1.8GHz capture PC.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
12-06-2014, 08:58 AM
jriker1 jriker1 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 63
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply sanlyn. No, not a laptop. Using an old Dell desktop. 3GHz dual core. 6GB Ram but that's pointless because I'm on WinXP 32-bit.
  • With encoding using Lagarith Codec.
  • Network was right clicked and disabled

My Capture Timings:



My Disk I/O settings are:



Let me know if you need anything else to look at. Most/all should be set to what you recommended before. I know Disk I/O you mentioned to leave at default. Is Disable Windows write buffering a good thing?

For reference, CPU jumps between 6 and 35 percent so probably not an issue there.

Thanks.

JR

Last edited by jriker1; 12-06-2014 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
02-19-2015, 09:45 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,091
Thanked 1,970 Times in 1,699 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jriker1 View Post
I have been using Virtualdub for a couple weeks to import VHS tapes into my PC with an ATI 600 USB device. Some were fine, some had Frames dropped, and some had Frames inserted, and some had both.
Are you using an external TBC?

Quote:
Does turning off the display disable VirtualDub's process for Frames inserted and dropped frame detection?
Hmm.... interesting.

It might. Because the graphics overlay/preview should not affect the capturing.

Quote:
Or was the cleaning and defragging of the hard drive
This is far more likely. When troubleshooting, only do one thing at a time. Otherwise, you'll not know what fixed it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are chances an external frame synchronizer tbc improves a signal with no dropped or inserted frames in vdub? quad4k Capture, Record, Transfer 0 07-23-2013 11:23 PM
Virtualdub with audio preview dropping frames Spektre Capture, Record, Transfer 5 07-16-2012 04:30 PM
Compression with MMC ATI, P frames and B frames for MPEG-2 ? John Capture, Record, Transfer 1 08-20-2011 10:15 PM
JVC HR-7600U problem with TBC turned on, tracking errors at top of screen rodbuilder Capture, Record, Transfer 18 07-04-2011 03:37 AM
VirtualDub - frames inserted? lookouts Capture, Record, Transfer 3 10-15-2006 09:28 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM