Quantcast TBC recommended for laserdisc capture? comb filters? - Page 2 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #21  
05-10-2016, 01:38 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Guess I shouldn't go from memory. The guy actually uses an Analog Devices ADV7842 and said "It beats the pants off of the TI TVP5160." Substance is the guy who praised the TVP5160, although he actually says it's the second-best.

With LD (not VHS), metaleonid found that the AGC issue with ATI 750 PCIe was rare. I believe the guy on the OT forums who captured a billion different releases of Star Wars LDs using it never came across the issue.

The 600 does clip superblacks.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #22  
05-10-2016, 02:28 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
Guess I shouldn't go from memory. The guy actually uses an Analog Devices ADV7842 and said "It beats the pants off of the TI TVP5160." Substance is the guy who praised the TVP5160, although he actually says it's the second-best.
Seems like TI doesn't have the eval boards available anymore regardless.

The Analog board only has HDMI out? That's disappointing. Although I guess it avoids the second D/A conversion that the TI board had to produce analog out...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
05-10-2016, 02:53 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Yes. I don't find that disappointing.

The fact that you still have to route audio separately is, though.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
05-10-2016, 03:05 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
So, on this page the Snell & Wilcox TBS-185 is highly praised as a comb filter -
http://notonbluray.com/blog/comb-tb-tests/

I have the Snell and Wilcox NRS30 noise reducer. I wonder if it has the same comb filter circuitry as the TBS-185... I'll need to investigate and do some testing. I wasn't doing LD transfers when I purchased the NRS30, just VHS, so I didn't even encounter its comb filter in usage.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
05-10-2016, 03:07 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
[double post - admin please delete]

Last edited by jbd5010; 05-10-2016 at 03:08 PM. Reason: Double post
Reply With Quote
  #26  
05-12-2016, 06:57 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I guess I would be one of the most experience with LD captures.

Forget about plugging Composite to JVC S-VHS players. It doesn't work. I tried it.

What you want to do is this. Buy a good LD player. Try to buy this:
http://www.diamondmm.com/tvw750pcie-...uner-card.html

Now, this card is tricky. Some LD players and some VHS footage triggers AGC problems with this card. My second best player Pioneer Elite LD-S2 does trigger AGC problem with this card. My other non-elite Pioneer CLD-52 doesn't. But this capture card has the best 3D comb filter. If this card triggers AGC issues, that's bad. Another solution is Panasonic DMR-ES** DVD recorders as pass through. But I don't like them that much. Or you can try the LD player with already installed comb filters. I have never had those so I can't advise.

Oh, and forget about TBC with LDs. I maybe wrong but every LD has its own TBC.

Also what you want to do is to try to capture digital sound rather than regular RCA. You need to get accurate sound card that does it with either optical or coaxial. When you capture the sound digitally, don't sync. Any questions, ask.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
05-12-2016, 07:12 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
What you want to do is this. Buy a good LD player. Try to buy this:
http://www.diamondmm.com/tvw750pcie-...uner-card.html
Done! I bought this Tuesday: http://www.ebay.com/itm/191856178622

New in box sealed

I have the Pioneer Elite CLD-95. Not one of the best models ever, but it's what I was willing to spend. I'll give the ATI 750 a shot when it arrives.

I have the DMR-ES10, and tried it, but seems like it's giving a "checkerboard" effect. This screenshot is from a file that was captured and already processed with QTGMC deinterlace, but it still shows the issue:


(Capture workflow was CLD-95 > DMRES10 Passthrough/Comb > ATI AIW 7500 PCIe)

I didn't run any noise filters other than what (I think) is included in QTGMC.


Attached Images
File Type: jpg CLD95toDMRES10toATI7500.jpg (51.8 KB, 111 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
05-12-2016, 08:22 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Only viewing on phone, but I don't see a checkerboard pattern there. Just the usual LD noise.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
05-15-2016, 05:57 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
Only viewing on phone, but I don't see a checkerboard pattern there. Just the usual LD noise.
I'm a newbie with Laserdisc, I guess I just didn't realize LD's had their own unique noise.

So my ATI 750 arrived, and Virtualdub can see the device, but when I select composite input (or any of the inputs, for that matter) I just get a black overlay on the capture preview window. I installed the pre-bundled ArcSoft software and can get a signal there...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
05-16-2016, 04:52 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Tried changing from Overlay to Preview?
Reply With Quote
  #31  
05-16-2016, 05:37 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Yup, no luck. The ATI AIW 7500 I have installed shows an image on both overlay and preview modes. The 750 isn't showing an image for either one.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
05-20-2016, 09:23 AM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
The only other thing that comes to mind is if the 750 is only outputting UYVY while the AIW is doing YUY2. Then perhaps there is some issue with VDub displaying that on your system.

Have you ever built a graph in GraphEdit before?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
03-23-2017, 08:50 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
I missed the rest of this thread. I was purchasing a house involving in getting mortgage, moving to a new house, house renovation starting last year. So my apologies. Do you still need help with ATI 750? By the way, your player seems to be a bit grainy.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
03-24-2017, 09:57 AM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Do you think the player needs cleaning, calibration, both? I thought the picture looked kind of crappy :/ Lots of smearing when there's text/graphics on a black background as well.

I guess I'm not sure exactly what's to be reasonably expected since this is my first LD player...
Reply With Quote
  #35  
03-24-2017, 10:32 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbd5010 View Post
Do you think the player needs cleaning, calibration, both? I thought the picture looked kind of crappy :/ Lots of smearing when there's text/graphics on a black background as well.

I guess I'm not sure exactly what's to be reasonably expected since this is my first LD player...
I have 2 players LD-S2 and CLD-D703. I noticed that while CLD-D703 does better with colors and also it does NOT trigger AGC, it has grainy pictures compared to LD-S2. I ran screenshot by Kurtis Bahr (he and Duncan Hunter are the only 2 people that service LD players). He told that what I was seeing is superiority of LD-S2 over most other players. It turns out that Pioneer invested in the LD-S2 board to produce minimum noise. Now whether it is internal noise reduction or just lack of noise - I can't tell, but I will be happy to post short clips so experts here can advise.

As far as smearing over the text - the dot crawl?

If your player needs service or not, contact Kurtis on lddb.com. He will tell you.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
03-24-2017, 10:36 AM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
I signed up for an LDDB.com account, but for some reason when I go to the forum and try to do anything, it says something about synchronizing my account with LDDB.com, and then I get an HTTP error 500.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
03-24-2017, 01:11 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,084
Thanked 235 Times in 207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbd5010 View Post
Lots of smearing when there's text/graphics on a black background as well.
http://notonbluray.com/blog/laserdisc-clv-smear/ ?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
03-24-2017, 01:36 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msgohan View Post
Yeah, my CLD-95 is a disaster compared to those. I'll grab some screenshots when I get home.

I have such a small sample size of LD's (only 5 at the moment), it's possible they're poorly mastered I suppose... they're not major theatrical releases. All musical TV performances.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
04-02-2017, 06:36 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
I missed the rest of this thread. I was purchasing a house involving in getting mortgage, moving to a new house, house renovation starting last year. So my apologies. Do you still need help with ATI 750? By the way, your player seems to be a bit grainy.
So, I moved by ATI 750 from the XP capture machine to my main Windows 10 desktop. I'm still just getting a black screen in VirtualDub, whether I set it to "preview" or "overlay." Interestingly enough, I can access the comb filter settings etc., I just can't see video:



Any suggestions are appreciated...


Attached Images
File Type: png 750-filters-vdub.png (11.3 KB, 80 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #40  
04-04-2017, 08:19 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
What version of VirtualDub are you using?
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
avisynth, capture, comb filter, laserdisc, tbc

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My LaserDisc capture workflow metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 11 08-31-2014 09:49 AM
Recommended capture card with component inputs? metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 12 11-17-2013 09:29 PM
Looking for: Pioneer LaserDisc players Jpass992 Marketplace 3 08-13-2012 08:31 AM
Advice on VHS capture setup (capture device, proc-amp, recommended connections) Simon76 Capture, Record, Transfer 12 12-23-2010 03:46 AM
Laserdisc: How to protect from laser rot? manthing Capture, Record, Transfer 5 08-15-2006 07:42 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM