Quantcast TBC recommended for laserdisc capture? comb filters? - Page 3 - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #41  
04-04-2017, 08:27 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
What version of VirtualDub are you using?
1.10.4 (build35491) on my Windows 10 machine.

1.9.11 (build 32842) on my Windows XP machine.

It occurred to me that in both cases I've had another capture card installed (AIW 7500 on the XP Machine, Blackmagic Intensity 4K on the Win 10 machine). I'll try removing the Intensity on my Win 10 to see if the issue is the 750 not playing nice with other capture cards installed at hte same time.
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #42  
04-04-2017, 08:31 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Have you selected the proper devices?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
04-06-2017, 08:59 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Can you try different drivers? I'm now starting to remember that some later drivers had problem. Try to take the driver from the CD it came with.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
04-06-2017, 09:58 AM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaleonid View Post
Can you try different drivers? I'm now starting to remember that some later drivers had problem. Try to take the driver from the CD it came with.
Yup, that's one of my planned steps this weekend. I do have the original CD, so I'll give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
04-06-2017, 08:27 PM
bilbofett bilbofett is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 58
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm using both the VC500 and USB600 on Win10 x64 and Vdub 1.10.4. Sometimes I get black video, sometimes I don't. When I click around back and forth between "overlay" and "preview", the video eventually will show up. Sometimes it will take 20-30 tries. It's a bug in Win10 I think.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
04-09-2017, 09:15 AM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
What about VirtualDub 1.9?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
04-09-2017, 12:16 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Okay, so in Virtual Dub 1.9, I still don't get anything but a black screen on the preview window, but when I attempt to capture, the video image appears and capture is successful. On 1.10 I would get an error message stating "unable to start capture."

So, a step in the right direction! I'd like to have a working preview window, but at least I can capture. (P.S. I also removed the previous driver and used on the one on the CD, same results).
Reply With Quote
  #48  
04-10-2017, 04:10 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Do you have an XP computer? I don't know about Windows 10. I never passed the XP for my captures.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
04-15-2017, 10:28 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
As soon as I made that post, I lost the ability to capture again. Never got it back.

I put the card back in my XP machine and removed my ATI AIW VE (aka 7500) to ensure they weren't fighting with each other. I tried the original Version 1.0 driver (from 2010), which would make my computer abruptly shut off when I clicked "capture AVI" in VirtualDub. Then I re-tried the driver that came on the CD in the box (from 2012), and the newest driver from the website (2014)... black screen. Tried switching back and forth between "preview" and "overlay." Every attempt to capture produced the error message "Unable to start capture."



I think I might have a bad card?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
04-15-2017, 10:34 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
What version of VirtualDub are you using? You can only use 1.9. VirtualDub 1.9 must be the banner pinned to this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
04-15-2017, 10:39 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Yup, 1.9...
Reply With Quote
  #52  
04-15-2017, 10:45 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
So it works on Windows 10 without overlay but doesn't XP?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
04-15-2017, 10:48 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Did you select this device? You need to select this particular device. Also check your filter pin under video. Check format. I once installed this card on Chinese XP machine and it would default me to PAL instead of NTSC.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
04-17-2017, 08:32 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
WINDOWS 7 TO THE RESCUE!

* Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit
* Virtualdub 1.10 (1.9 Capture Pin setting would only allow PAL??)
* Driver 6.15.10 (2012 ... from the CD in the box)

I had only tried Windows 10 and Windows XP to this point. Dug my Win 7 machine out and BAM... worked first try.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
04-17-2017, 08:37 PM
metaleonid metaleonid is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Fort Lee, New Jersey
Posts: 493
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Huh? Only in PAL?
Something is not right with your XP system. Check BIOS settings. Google it. Something is wrong. What ServicePack do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
04-17-2017, 08:47 PM
jbd5010 jbd5010 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 180
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
What I meant is, under Windows 7, the "capture pin" was on PAL for VirtualDub 1.9. However, with 1.10, no problems.

I couldn't get anything to work under XP. I believe it's XP SP3.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
avisynth, capture, comb filter, laserdisc, tbc

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My LaserDisc capture workflow metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 11 08-31-2014 09:49 AM
Recommended capture card with component inputs? metaleonid Capture, Record, Transfer 12 11-17-2013 09:29 PM
Looking for: Pioneer LaserDisc players Jpass992 Marketplace 3 08-13-2012 08:31 AM
Advice on VHS capture setup (capture device, proc-amp, recommended connections) Simon76 Capture, Record, Transfer 12 12-23-2010 03:46 AM
Laserdisc: How to protect from laser rot? manthing Capture, Record, Transfer 5 08-15-2006 07:42 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM