Quantcast Noise from TBC-4000 DataVideo? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
04-05-2017, 04:43 AM
digicube digicube is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 35
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Is the unit defective? I'm using a generic ac adapter, any chance it's causing this noise?


Attached Files
File Type: mp4 Tbc-4000 Noise.mp4 (6.62 MB, 34 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-05-2017, 05:40 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Maybe, maybe not. You need to do a thorough process of elimination.

What I see is simply an interference pattern, likely cause by power.

The problem may be caused by:
- a bad PSU.
- bad wires. And no, it does NOT matter if the same cables are "fine" elsewhere. Some hardware is more touchy than others.
- lack of UPS (ie, dirty power straight from wall outlet)
- another device on the same power strip/UPS/outlet

Time to test.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-05-2017, 01:04 PM
digicube digicube is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 35
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
On the back of the unit, it mentions it requires DC IN 9V 18W. Is the 18W information even relevant? Most ac adapters just state the voltage and amperes. I'm using a 9V 2A AC adapter.

Does anyone know what the DIP switches inside the TBC-4000 do? I read it's used to convert the unit to accept PAL signals.

Last edited by digicube; 04-05-2017 at 01:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-05-2017, 01:53 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,265 Times in 972 Posts
watts = volts times amps
So 9volts x 2amps = 18 watts.
That doesn't mean you don't have a noisy adapter.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-06-2017, 12:13 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
9V 2A is correct.

I'd once called DataVideo about the DIP switches on the 3000. They have no idea. All data regarding these was purged 10+ years ago. From simple testing, I learned that the first switch controls PAL/NTSC. The 2nd likely controls IRE 0/7.5. No idea on the others. The 4000 slightly differs from the 3000. Just switch them, see what happens.

Again, the power adapter may be giving dirty power.
And no, it doesn't at all matter if it's "brand new". New stuff can be crap, too!

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-13-2017, 01:36 PM
digicube digicube is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 35
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Got a UPS power supply (APC 600VA) and it fixed the hum issues ONLY IF the UPS power supply is not connected to an outlet. So it is dirty power that is causing it. Too bad I can't keep the UPS power supply connected while using it. Maybe I should get one of those Stetzer meter and filters and see if it'll reduce the dirty power. I'm afraid the dirty power maybe affecting other electronics like VCRs, etc.

Nice to know the TBC-4000 can accept PAL signals. I noticed it's made up of 2 TBC-3000 main boards.

Is there a UPS power supply where you draw power directly from the battery even when it still connected to a working outlet? Most UPS power supply only draws power from the battery during a power outage.

Upon closer inspection on the TV, I can still see a faint hum but I can't see it on the DV file. Can you guys see it? If you guys can't see it, does this mean I don't have to worry about it?

I found out what the other dip switches are for. They are to configure the unit as a 2ch (TBC3000) or a 4ch(TBC4000) TBC. So I can possibly convert this TBC4000 to a TBC3000, maybe only one of the boards is defective. Most old electronics need to have some capacitors replaced. This unit was built in 1999.


Attached Files
File Type: avi TBC4000NoiseUPS.avi (51.52 MB, 10 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-13-2017, 06:40 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,753
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by digicube View Post
Is there a UPS power supply where you draw power directly from the battery even when it still connected to a working outlet?
Non-switching UPS. About 3x+ the cost. But perhaps worth it for you.

Quote:
Can you guys see it?
No. The compression is losing it.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-14-2017, 04:50 PM
digicube digicube is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 35
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Wow I just found a way to get rid of the hum noise without using a UPS power supply. When I connect a composite cable from a heavy video equipment such as a LCD TV or Betamax VCR to the TBC-4000, the noise goes away. The equipment was turned off. My rackmount TBC was only able to remove some of the noise. Looks like the amount of metal has an influence, maybe it's a grounding issue with the TBC-4000.

The noise will not go away when I connect the TBC-4000 to a VHS VCR, Laserdisc player. These machines are less heavy, hence less metal parts.

I'm connecting the video cable to the monitor output of the TBC-4000, so all 4 inputs are still available. Something inside the unit needs to be grounded, wished I knew what it is.

Last edited by digicube; 04-14-2017 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diagonal line noise on VHS video? Luma noise? bilditup1 Capture, Record, Transfer 66 10-17-2015 01:03 AM
Using Datavideo STC-100 as a TBC kbbbb Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 07-04-2015 07:35 AM
DataVideo TBC-100/TBC-1000 artifacting, noise? premiumcapture Capture, Record, Transfer 8 06-02-2015 08:46 PM
DataVideo TBC-1000 vs TBC-4000 via Email or PM Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 03-25-2010 07:24 PM
DataVideo TBC-1000 has grainy noise? via Email or PM Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 10-26-2009 04:47 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 PM