Quantcast ATI AIW + VirtualDub = Capturing problem - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
04-18-2017, 12:32 AM
Mlchk Mlchk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hello,

i have AIW 9200 + drivers and MMC 9.02 from our forum.

So, i have a lot of problems with VirtualDub capturing, please check link:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFKGsUYEGnA

Capturing with "Ati Rage Theatre Device" is *impossible (video link) - i can capture only with Microsoft WDM...but...it's ancient and in this case, i don't have all features.

Can you help me, please?

Tine

P.S.: *not only preview is defected ; if i try to capture with "Ati Rage Theatre" i had a lot of dropped frames....
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
04-18-2017, 01:09 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,444
Thanked 1,073 Times in 895 Posts
We can't help you with a re-processed YouTube video of a recording of a media player plati8ng a video.

What does "impossible" mean when you say you can't capture with the "Ati Rage Theater"Direct Show device. Do you get an error message? What does the message say? Is the device recognized by VirtualDub? Have you tried uninstalling and re-installing the ATi package? ATI's drivers and software require a certain install sequence -- you must remove all graphics drivers before installing, and boot up using the Windows XP default VGA driver. At bootup do not allow the Windows hardware wizard to automatically load any drivers or capture software.

Have you seen the settings guide at Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide].
Reply With Quote
  #3  
04-18-2017, 01:17 AM
Mlchk Mlchk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Check YT video - and you'll see (that's not media player, but virtual dub, and you will get answers).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
04-18-2017, 01:48 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,444
Thanked 1,073 Times in 895 Posts
I understand what you're saying, but you didn't answer the other questions about how ATI was installed or whether or not you're using settings recommended in the linked capture thread?.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
04-18-2017, 02:32 AM
Mlchk Mlchk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
[What does "impossible" mean when you say you can't capture with the "Ati Rage Theater"Direct Show device? Do you get an error message? What does the message say?]

It means, that i got a lot of dropped frames. I saw error message sometimes, but now it's okay (no error messages). Device is recognized by Virtual Dub (you can see at YT video). I tried uninstalling and reinstalling ATI Package and drivers many times.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
04-18-2017, 03:14 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,444
Thanked 1,073 Times in 895 Posts
Have you seen the capture setting recommendations in the advanced capture guide (Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide])? Is there any major difference between those recommendations and the settings that you are using? You might have the correct Direct Show device selected, but how about the capture pin and capture filter settings in the other setup sections?

If you're using line-level and frame-level tbc's, you shouldn't be dropping frames.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
04-18-2017, 03:19 AM
Mlchk Mlchk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, no any major difference. Capture pin and capture filter settings is correct (for sure) - it's the same as "Microsoft...." (PAL_H)...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
04-18-2017, 07:02 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,444
Thanked 1,073 Times in 895 Posts
Playback in your video looks like a PAL video standard mismatch. PAL_H as far as I know is a broadcast standard in Belgium, but the VHS tape itself might not be PAL_H. Did you try some other PAL type? What is the tape's country of origin?

And thanks for your patience.

Last edited by sanlyn; 04-18-2017 at 07:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
04-18-2017, 07:49 AM
Mlchk Mlchk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I tried all PAL types. Slovenia.

IMPORTANT: I have same PAL setting at "Ati Rage Theatre" and "Microsoft..." - and on "Microsoft..." it works normal.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
04-18-2017, 08:30 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,444
Thanked 1,073 Times in 895 Posts
Hm. That's not just highly unusual, it's baffling. It's a slight possibility that the 9200 is defective in some way. Do other tapes perform correctly?

[EDIT] I see you mentioned you have drivers that contain MMC 9.02. I can't find that MMC mentioned in the recommended drivers for the 9200/9600 AGP cards. The driver set recommended is here: ATI All In Wonder Hacks, Drivers, Codecs and MMC. It has MMC 8.8. In my own case I'm using AIW 7500 and 9600XT cards with drivers from 2004, but have not installed MMC since 2002 (I never use it).

With your current drivers, are you able to get correct playback using MMC for capture?

One other possibility is that if you have installed an MMC version that doesn't match the version of other Catalyst driver editions, you'll have problems.

Last edited by sanlyn; 04-18-2017 at 08:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
04-18-2017, 10:22 AM
Mlchk Mlchk is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
With your current drivers, are you able to get correct playback using MMC for capture?


Yes.

I knew this drivers for 9200, but didn't work for me (i could install them - error message - INF error), so i tried other pack(s)..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
04-18-2017, 11:20 AM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,444
Thanked 1,073 Times in 895 Posts
If MMC works, it's a driver problem somewhere. Of course, it could always be the tape (not as likely).
MMC can be used to capture to lossless AVI using huffyuv or other lossless compressors.

The 9200/9600 driver set works, as I tried them myself some time back. I don't know why you had a inf error message with the recommended setup. They installed OK for me. But I now use a different version (Catalyst 45, October 2004) I download from the ATI site years back, before AMD took over. Now that you say MMC plays the tape correctly, the mystery deepens but points to a VirtualDub problem somewhere. And that "inf error" poses other questions, if the installation sequence was correct.

For the time being I'm baffled, unless you want to use MMC instead of Virtualdub. Others have also tried VirtualVCR, here: http://virtualvcr.sourceforge.net/, but I don't recall if you can set up PAL_H, it's been many years since I tried that capture program. For the time being this problem has me at a loss for more answers, but I'll keep researching. At the moment some aspects of this situation just don't make sense.

Last edited by sanlyn; 04-18-2017 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
04-18-2017, 02:20 PM
msgohan msgohan is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 888
Thanked 197 Times in 171 Posts
Judging by other recent threads with capture device + VirtualDub problems, you may way to try other versions of VirtualDub.

To troubleshoot further you could see whether building a graph in GraphEdit works.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
04-18-2017, 04:56 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,466
Thanked 1,390 Times in 1,222 Posts
The main reason I've not replied to this yet is because I'm trying to figure out my own ATI AIW problem.

1.8/9/10 refused to preview correctly.
1.5 works for preview, but still drops frames.

I finally have time tonight, and will reformat a drive and reinstall Windows fresh. See what happens then.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After capturing VHS with VirtualDub, how to proceed? Superopa Capture, Record, Transfer 12 01-13-2017 06:43 AM
Problem with ATI TV Wonder 600 USB in VirtualDub - no audio? Zoink187 Capture, Record, Transfer 7 07-21-2014 04:26 AM
No audio when capturing with VirtualDub TylerDurden389 Capture, Record, Transfer 17 04-15-2014 05:27 PM
My VHS capturing plan with EasyCap USB and VirtualDub? Renowned Capture, Record, Transfer 2 10-15-2013 05:19 PM
Problem with Virtualdub when filtering... jrodefeld Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 1 10-02-2011 04:59 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM