Quantcast VirtualDub crashes when selecting WDM capture driver? - digitalFAQ Forum
Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1  
07-24-2018, 05:26 PM
benni2 benni2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
OS: win7 x64
vdub: v1.10.4
capture device: hauppauge usb live2
source: vcr (PAL)

hi folks,

i'm trying to capture old material from my vcr. it also worked at some point, but now i don't get it to work anymore.

whenever i choose the hauppauge (Cx23100 video capture directshow) driver, i don't get a picture. in the past, i just chose the WDM driver instead and got video+audio. but now, when i choose the WDM (microsoft image wdm capture win32 vfw) driver, vdub freezes and nothing can unfreeze it - except a restart.

i tried it with 3 different computers (all with win7 x64) but none of them worked. have i forgotten/missed something when it worked just a few weeks ago?

i hope you can help me on this.

cheers,
benni
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-24-2018, 08:35 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,681
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,616 Posts
Did you by chance update Windows recently? I know the GDPR updates really screwed up Windows 10, maybe Windows 8, and maybe 7. But I've not heard about any Windows 7 issues. But not ruling them out. A lot of cards "suddenly" quit working recently for that reason.

If that's not it, then the troubleshooting shall continue...

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-24-2018, 09:38 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,234 Times in 969 Posts
I doubt that WDM worked "a few weeks ago", and if it did it was very limited. WDM is ancient tech. The Hauppauge capture drivers are DirectShow and so is Virtualdub captue nowadays. The last time I saw WDM capture used was Windows 95.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-24-2018, 10:54 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is online now
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 10,681
Thanked 1,867 Times in 1,616 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanlyn View Post
I doubt that WDM worked "a few weeks ago", and if it did it was very limited. WDM is ancient tech. The Hauppauge capture drivers are DirectShow and so is Virtualdub captue nowadays. The last time I saw WDM capture used was Windows 95.
ATI AIW can use WDM, and some cards must use it for preview in VirtualDub. It's no more ancient than XP and AIW cards. You select Microsoft WDM instead of the card-native DirectShow preview. One of my primary systems, using the PCI AIW, does just that.

If you want ancient, then let's talk about VfW.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
07-25-2018, 04:56 PM
benni2 benni2 is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
thanks for your replies

I did the normal windows updates, yes. so all computers have the same (new) patch level. i'm not sure if i wanna revert and stay on an older patch level.

but maybe we can even get the directshow drivers to work?

-- merged --

ok, update... at least on one computer i could solve the mystery (i guess it would work on the others as well):

in the hauppauge driver (video > capture filter) i could set the video mode.. in the past, i set it to PAL-B which was obviously not correct (Germany)... as soon as i set PAL-D, it worked fine. i can capture again. and i can switch to WDM again

for google: the symptoms have been, that i could capture with my hauppauge driver, but i got a video without video-information (like 10 mb/min). even the vdub stats on the right didn't do anything (no frame counter, no nothing). whenever i switched to the wdm driver, vdub crashed.

thanks again for your help.

*** SOLVED ***
Reply With Quote
The following users thank benni2 for this useful post: lordsmurf (08-04-2018)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VirtualDub program failure, crashes on capture? JoRodd Capture, Record, Transfer 9 02-27-2018 12:19 AM
Capture VHS from USB to VirtualDub - then computer crashes? Koen Capture, Record, Transfer 12 06-02-2015 09:56 AM
Need help selecting TBC, capture card, and PC LFonseca Project Planning, Workflows 8 04-10-2015 10:11 PM
Selecting capture card and installation - which ATI All In Wonder? Father-of-Ash Capture, Record, Transfer 10 07-26-2014 11:55 AM
Installed ATI MMC: 'Capture driver is not loaded' error? rappy Capture, Record, Transfer 11 06-27-2011 07:17 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM