Quantcast Problem capturing Secam with ATI AIW? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
11-01-2018, 03:11 AM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 257
Thanks: 56
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Hello,

I am dealing with L-secam tapes collection now. So far the problem seem to be that my AIW9600 seem to have problem with L-secam signal. The image is very unstable. The decoding is not flawless.

This tapes are from the 80' and have been filmed with a JVC CV-3001 camera and recorded with HR-3330 and HR-4100. deck.

The signal is stabilized when I transcode L-Secam --->PAL. AIW9600 like the PAL signal.

The problem is that the transcoding is not that transparent (horrible colors conversion). I tried transcoding with a NV-HS100 and a HR-S8000MS and my conclusion is that if I can capture in original format, it would be better.

Surprisingly during Secam playback, I have a Studio CTR monitor hooked via SCART, and the TV display the footage without any image fluctuation. So now I am considering trying another capture device that would be more "Secam friendly".

Searching on the web, I found someone how had similar problem. He solve is problem using a device called "GRABSHOW 100". I am not sure I can use this "cheap device" with S-video and with virtualdub/huffyuv but if someone can gave me some hints or things worth to try to solve my issue.


Regards
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
11-01-2018, 03:06 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,985
Thanks: 93
Thanked 903 Times in 773 Posts
Not sure what you mean by "transcoding". Recording, dubbing and capture aren't "transcoding".

VirtualDub's "capture filters" setup dialog has a setting for just about every flavor of Secam. What version of Secam are you looking for?


Quote:
- NTSC_M USA, Canada, U.S. territories, Jamaica, Phillippines, Panama, most of
South America (not Brazil), South Korea.
- NTSC_M_J or "NTSC_J" (Japan)
- PAL B/G (most of Western Europe, Australia, New Zealand)
- PAL_I (the UK, Ireland, Hong Kong, South Africa, Macau)
- PAL D/K (most of Central and Eastern Europe)
- PAL D (mainland China)
- PAL-M (Brazil)
- PAL-N (Argentina, Paraguay, Uruguay)
- PAL-L (same as B/G)
- "PAL 60" hybrid, usually for NTSC_M in PAL systems.
- Most flavors of SECAM (France)


Capturing with VirtualDub [Settings Guide]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
11-01-2018, 03:30 PM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 257
Thanks: 56
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Some vcr have transcoding ability. You can play a L-secam tape and output a PAL signal to the TV or capture card.

My case is the L-secam from France and yes despite the fact the the AIW have the L-secam filter but in my case the capture test are not convincing so far with the L-secam. Anyway thanks for asking , I am waiting for a TBC to see if it can help.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
11-01-2018, 03:53 PM
hodgey hodgey is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Norway
Posts: 194
Thanks: 13
Thanked 51 Times in 44 Posts
It looks like the "GRABSHOW 100" is a empia 28xx device with a SAA7113H, so it's nothing special. (Allthough it seems like it might be a very old model that can only capture 640x480?) USB dongles with this chip are quite common, Some I've read have used it include EZCAP DC60+, Roxio Easy VHS to DVD, Diamond VC500 Mac, VGB200. It can be a bit hard to say which as many usb dongles can have the same shell but different hardware though.

Quote:
Not sure what you mean by "transcoding". Recording, dubbing and capture aren't "transcoding".
I presume they mean passing the signal through a VCR or something that converts from L-SECAM to PAL. Maybe a DVR that supports secam or some broadcast converter can do the job better, idk.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
11-01-2018, 06:26 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 2,985
Thanks: 93
Thanked 903 Times in 773 Posts
AFAIK transcoding is digital to digital. Doesn't include analog at either end. I would think "capture" is used for analog to digital, as in SECAM from tape to PAL DVD with a DVR.
Reply With Quote
The following users thank sanlyn for this useful post: lordsmurf (11-02-2018)
  #6  
11-07-2018, 03:38 AM
Mejnour Mejnour is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 257
Thanks: 56
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Hi Sanlyn,

Just doing a follow up.

I am testing a Terratec Grabster AV 350 MX now.
It supposed to have the same chipset as the ATI AIW USB600 (TI TVP5150)

So far I am able to capture with the L-Secam filter with Huffyuv without any problem.

When going back home, I plan to test the L-Secam with my own AGP AIW to see if my problem was related
to the card unit itself.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
The following users thank Mejnour for this useful post: sanlyn (11-08-2018)
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Preview problem in VirtualDub while capturing VHS WojtusJ Capture, Record, Transfer 0 10-26-2018 07:17 AM
ATI AIW + VirtualDub = Capturing problem Mlchk Capture, Record, Transfer 13 04-18-2017 04:56 PM
Problem capturing Moroccan VHS tape? lesparapluies Capture, Record, Transfer 5 03-01-2016 10:10 PM
Video capturing card compatible with PAL/SECAM videonut Capture, Record, Transfer 6 07-25-2014 03:37 AM
Problem with SECAM VHS playback / tape capture monks19 Capture, Record, Transfer 4 03-04-2012 10:04 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM  —  vBulletin Copyright Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd