Quantcast ATI AIW VE capture resolution? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
01-24-2019, 02:23 PM
Feedbucket Feedbucket is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Hi - picked up a used All In Wonder VE (I know) and the purple hammerhead dongle. Installed both the drivers mentioned in the sticked thread above and the most recent ones found on the AMD site -- not all at the same time of course. Seems like no matter what I do, when I am able to access the device through DirectShow, the image comes through at 320x240.

Is MMC a requirement to getting access to something like 720x480 -- and does this mean I need to pick up the output dongle too so I can complete the audio part of the TV setup? Or is there some other way to change this? Or is something just broken? Thanks.

-- merged --

More: when I try selecting "Capture Pin..." from the Video menu, VirtualDub crashes with this message.

.. And it turns out hcw18prop is part of the drivers installed for the Hauppauge HVR-1600. So I pulled the card, ran hcwclear, and now Capture Pin works!

Unfortunate that the ATI and Hauppauge cards can't play nicely together.

-- merged --

Just another update here, for anyone interested. Turns out they can coexist just fine if you use Microsoft WDM Image Capture and switch between the two through Video > Source rather than explicitly selecting them as DirectShow devices.


Attached Images
File Type: png capturepincrash.PNG (20.6 KB, 11 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
01-28-2019, 01:41 AM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 11,758
Thanked 2,147 Times in 1,848 Posts
Most capture cards hate to co-exist, it's not just ATI and Hauppauge.
So you're capturing at 720x480 fine now?

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
01-28-2019, 02:59 AM
Feedbucket Feedbucket is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: NYC
Posts: 25
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Yup, just have to select through Video > Format rather than Capture pin.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Capture resolution slightly change on Youtube upload? Eric-Jan Encode, Convert for streaming 6 09-15-2018 06:13 AM
Ideal capture resolution for lossless, MPEG, H.264 files? rf99 Capture, Record, Transfer 2 06-09-2018 03:41 AM
Capture resolution choice - 352x480 not in VirtualDub options Mejnour Capture, Record, Transfer 1 09-28-2013 06:52 PM
What Resolution ? Nintendo NES Game Play video capture (recording) JLegnon Capture, Record, Transfer 16 10-10-2011 03:16 PM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM