Quantcast Screen flicker with TBC connected? - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
05-04-2019, 10:30 PM
Ansune Ansune is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Greetings,

I bought a TBC (tvONE-TASK, 1T-PAL-NTSC-GL; mid 2000's model) but hadn't had a chance to test it until now due to some other issues. My VCR is a JVC HR-S9500, connected via S-VIDEO to an ATI AIW 2006 PCIE on Windows XP SP2.

The manual states 12v 1.25A power requirement, and I read that Western Digital external HDD power adapters tend to work well.

I acquired a couple Western Digital power adapters, Ktec AC Adapter (KSA-24W-120150HU), and APD AC Adapter (WB-18R12FU), both are (Input: 100-240 ~ 50/60Hz 0.6A, Output 12V 1.5A).

My issue is, there is flickering on screen when the TBC is connected. Without it, there is no flicker. I've tried different outlets, and an APC UPS (BR1500MS).

What troubleshooting steps are recommended, or alternate power adapters? I assume (hope) it's a power adapter issue.

Attached below are videos demonstrating my issue.

-- merged --

Would this be a good adapter to try?

Chanzon 12V 1.5A 18W (Center-Postiive): https://www.amazon.com/Chanzon-Switc...dp/B07G118X6X/


Attached Files
File Type: avi DF JVC HR-S9500 Only (No Flicker).avi (13.03 MB, 5 downloads)
File Type: avi DF JVC HR-S9500 + 1T PAL NTSC GL (Flickering).avi (27.96 MB, 4 downloads)
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
05-06-2019, 05:59 PM
lordsmurf's Avatar
lordsmurf lordsmurf is offline
Site Staff | Video
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 8,274
Thanked 1,370 Times in 1,205 Posts
I know that this exact TBC worked flawlessly with the Honor ADS-24S-12 1224GPCU (12V 2A, center positive). And that's what WD HDDs came with for many years.

This is a knock-off, but looks very similar to the official branded supply:
http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53...m/370752585608

No official appears to be on eBay at the moment, but that can change.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- Find television shows, cartoons, DVDs and Blu-ray releases at the TVPast forums.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
05-11-2019, 11:09 AM
Ansune Ansune is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I will order that, and keep an eye on eBay. Thank you.

-- update --

The adapter arrived and has been tested. The same issues are still present.
I've also acquired a couple Honor ADS-24S-12 1224GPCU adapters via eBay bundled with old external hard drives. Same results, so I don't think it's a power adapter issue.

I don't know if this is helpful, but attached below is a raw capture, and a screen capture of the TBC color bars (cycled through each TBC input) with histogram.


Attached Files
File Type: avi DF TBC Color Bars.avi (68.28 MB, 3 downloads)
File Type: avi DF TBC Cycled Through N N4 P PM PN S.avi (35.37 MB, 1 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
05-31-2019, 01:12 AM
Ansune Ansune is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Update:

I've still been trying to troubleshoot this device with no progress.
I've since ordered a Datavideo TBC 1000, a bunch of parts to build an AGP AIW 7500 / 9000 build, and a Panasonic AG1980 VCR.
Once those parts arrive and I've tested them I think I'll finally be able to rule out whether or not the 1T-PAL-NTSC-GL is truly the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
05-31-2019, 09:07 AM
JPMedia JPMedia is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: East Coast, USA
Posts: 120
Thanked 32 Times in 25 Posts
Hopefully this is not the case for your DataVideo TBC-1000, but there was a problem with the unit I purchased not long ago. I was having some egregious chroma and luma problems when using the S-Video inputs and outputs. I replaced the power supply and let the unit warm up, as these are recommended troubleshooting steps for a TBC-1000, but the problems persisted. Strangely enough the composite video inputs and outputs seemed to function without issue. After having the unit inspected by a VCR repair specialist, it was determined that the cause of the issue was loose S-Video connectors inside the TBC. Thankfully the repair was not expensive. The difficult part of this process was locating a repair shop that was able and willing to repair the unit.

Be aware: TGP Sales DOES NOT service TBC-1000s
Reply With Quote
The following users thank JPMedia for this useful post: Ansune (05-31-2019), captainvic (05-31-2019)
Reply




Tags
flicker, hr-s9500, jvc, tbc

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color flicker after QTGMC deinterlace? mrb5217 Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 16 03-20-2017 04:15 PM
TBC for video flicker and bounce? jriker1 Capture, Record, Transfer 1 02-18-2015 08:16 AM
Strange flicker from camcorder? noelyoung Video Hardware Repair 4 01-07-2013 10:45 PM
Screen protectors for matte screen LCD on Macbook pro laptop? Sossity Computers 1 12-09-2010 07:01 PM
PAL / NTSC Conversion (Flicker) CaZeek Encode, Convert for discs 10 12-03-2004 08:14 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM