Quantcast Canadian retailer that sells recommended TBCs - digitalFAQ Forum
  #1  
07-16-2015, 09:11 PM
buyabook buyabook is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After reading Lord Smurf's article about time base corrector's at Digital FAQ, i am considering to purchase one. I live in Quebec, Canada. If I want to purchase a recommended TBC (AVToolbox AVT-8710 aka Cypress CTB-100,
DataVideo TBC-1000) from a canadian online store in order to avoid custom duties, can someone please recommend a website?
Reply With Quote
Someday, 12:01 PM
admin's Avatar
Ads / Sponsors
 
Join Date: ∞
Posts: 42
Thanks: ∞
Thanked 42 Times in 42 Posts
  #2  
07-17-2015, 10:02 AM
buyabook buyabook is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Please disregard the previous post.

I have ~70 home video tapes that I'd like to digitize and keep on my computer.

My PC has the following specs:

windows 7
ivy bridge i5-3470 3.2 ghz quad core cpu
16 gigs of ram.
3 terabyte drive (disk space is not an issue, I can purchase more if needed)
PCI firewire card (VIA VT6306 card) I used this card with the handycam below to capture 40 8mm tapes and I was very satisfied with the result.

vcr: jvc HR-S9500U s-vhs vcr

handycam with pass through capability: sony dcr-trv520 handycam

After reading Lord Smurf's article about time base corrector's at Digital FAQ, i am considering to purchase one. I live in Quebec, Canada. I am leaning towards the AVToolbox AVT-8710 to purchase it from the bhpvideo website. There are strong claims that this item will help the vhs capturing process. My question is, will it help with my setup if I use a usb capture device? I am still on the fence for using a usb capture device because I have seen negative reviews for the usb devices that are considered good on the videohelp website (i.e.Hauppauge USB Live 2 , StarTech SVID2USB2 USB 2.0 Video Capture Cable, the EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 Video Capture Device) but I don't want to spend ~300 for the canopus advc110. It sucks i can't edit or delete my posts on this forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
07-17-2015, 03:17 PM
buyabook buyabook is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After reading LordSmurf's post on how to install ATI 600 usb on windows 7, i might try to be the ati 600 usb off. Can anyone confirm if the AVT 8710 would add anything to my setup?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
07-20-2015, 08:50 AM
buyabook buyabook is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I purchased the ATI TV WonderHD 600 USB Digital w/ Analog TV Tuner HD600.

I am looking into purchasing the AVT-8710 TBC from a canadian retailer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
08-03-2015, 12:19 PM
buyabook buyabook is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i will not buy the AVT-8710 TBC
Reply With Quote
  #6  
08-03-2015, 02:25 PM
sanlyn sanlyn is offline
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N. Carolina and NY, USA
Posts: 3,648
Thanked 1,264 Times in 971 Posts
A full frame tbc is usually required for copy-protectied tapes, or tapes in such bad condition or player problems that can't output a steady frame flow. Other than those problems, it's used to avoid dropped or inserted (duplicate) frames and to insure audio sync.

Even more essential for analog tape capture is a line-level tbc, which corrects scanline timing errors within frames. A frame tbc does not address these errors. A tape captured with line sync errors is immediately obvious. The errors can't be corrected after capture. For the most consistent results, you'd need both types of tbc.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
08-04-2015, 07:41 AM
buyabook buyabook is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am most probably going to purchase a used Datavideo TBC-1000 after one of my vhs captures dropped 10,000 frames for a two hour tape . Another one of my captures had an issue being scanned by handbreak when I picked the original file as a source. Hopefully the TBC-1000 can fix those issues.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
08-05-2015, 05:40 PM
Goldwingfahrer's Avatar
Goldwingfahrer Goldwingfahrer is offline
Remembered
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 453
Thanked 80 Times in 71 Posts
Quote:
Hopefully the TBC-1000 can fix those issues.
I also had a Datavideo TBC1000.
He could not correct the jitter, Conclusion = unusable.
No comparison to a DMR ES10 or a DMR EH595.

A PDF is still here in the archive.


Attached Files
File Type: pdf DataVideo-TBC1000-Manual.pdf (146.8 KB, 5 downloads)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
08-10-2015, 10:24 PM
radiator radiator is offline
Free Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm curious to know how this turns out. Finding this gear locally in Canada is almost impossible and the conversion rate to usd is terrible at the moment.

I was looking AVT-8710 but could only find us retailers.
Reply With Quote
Reply




Tags
base, canada, corrector, tbc, time

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What if i use 3 x Timebase correctors (TBCs) in a row? Blackout Capture, Record, Transfer 2 08-24-2014 09:15 AM
Cheap Keywest TBCs on eBay volksjager Capture, Record, Transfer 14 07-25-2013 12:05 PM
OfficeMax now sells "Life" series Verbatim blanks via Email or PM Blank Media 1 04-01-2012 10:23 AM
Meritline, known for good DVD prices -- sells lingerie!!? lordsmurf General Discussion 0 07-14-2011 11:14 PM
Built-in TBCs vs. Standalones debwalsh Restore, Filter, Improve Quality 3 12-05-2005 06:38 AM

Thread Tools



 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM