Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-02-2024, 05:22 PM
Free Member

Hello all! I'm having a couple of issues with my capture workflow. One somewhat minor, and one very major. First, my JVC SR-MV45 is having a curious rewind issue. It seems to slip and labor while rewinding, but not while playing or fast-forwarding. I've attached a video with the behavior of all three, so if anyone knows anything about that I'd be appreciative, but it isn't that big of an issue as I have other decks I can use to rewind. The deck has been serviced and refurbished by lordsmurf and then minor repairs by me (a gear jumped out of place) so the belt shouldn't be the source of the issue.

Next, VirtualDub is ruining the audio of my captures. I'm new to it (and in my opinion its interface is pretty poor), so maybe this is an obvious fix, but it's warping the audio of the captures. I've confirmed that it does this on both VCRs I have, and on both dongles (an ATI and an Elgato) so all I can assume is that it's down to Vdub. It's not the tape, because when captured through the Elgato proprietary software, all is good (other than the bad quality of the capture ). Anyone have any ideas on this? I've attached a few test recordings of a marching band performance to show the problem, even the non-musically inclined should be able to hear it.

Any help would be appreciated!

JVC Captured with Elgato and Vdub.mp4

JVC using ATI and Vdub Post-Repair.mp4

Magnavox Captured with Elgato and EVC Software.mp4

JVC captured with Elgato and EVC Software.mp4

IMG_2126.mp4 (Example of FF, Play, and Rewind, I'll note that it was slipping quite a bit less than it had been in this recording, but the speed is very inconsistent and slower than I'd expect)

Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

03-02-2024, 05:27 PM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,468 Times in 2,099 Posts
Screencap the VirtualDub timing settings. Probably all it is.