05-19-2022, 09:57 AM
Free Member

Can anyone help with a VHS video capture issue I'm having?

I'm new to this and very likely doing a million things wrong, but my main issue is this weird "stuttering/frame skipping problem" (see video) that occurs seldomly throughout the tape (that is, the issue is not constant).

It has happened to multiple tapes, so must be a problem with either my capture settings or the hardware I'm using, I suspect. I'm using a cheap Vidbox capture device, a Toshiba DVD/VCR deck, and OBS streamlabs (I know, I know).

I've read some threads about a TBS (?) being needed for frame skipping issues, but the sample video I've watched doesn't exactly match up to what I'm seeing on mine, so I wasn't entirely sure if it was the same problem or not.

Let me know if you need any other info about settings or specific device models. I'd appreciate any guidance with this issue, thanks!

https://youtu.be/lYtiB8dJ13Q
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

05-19-2022, 10:39 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
Code:
Video unavailable
This video is private
Cannot see the video.

- Did my advice help you? Then become a Premium Member and support this site.
- For sale in the marketplace: TBCs, workflows, capture cards, VCRs
05-19-2022, 10:42 AM
Free Member

Oops, sorry about that. I changed it, should be visible now.
05-19-2022, 01:18 PM
Free Member

I ignore if the conditions of the tape is the bottleneck here (the YT bad compression is also present), but I suspect you need a better player, a better capture card and an appropriate capture software.

How does the video look on your TV played directly by your VCR?

A channel on S-VHS / VHS capture and AviSynth restoration https://bit.ly/3mHWbkN
05-19-2022, 01:36 PM
Free Member