Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-13-2024, 09:51 AM
Free Member

Hello world!

I'm new to the digitization of analog tapes and, like many, I'd like to digitize my family's Video8 tapes (as well as a few DV and Digital8 tapes of my own going forward).

What I have:
- Sony Digital8 camera with S-video output
- Macbook running newest OS
- Video8 tapes
- Patience and ~$200 for the rest of this project

I've been given loads of advice on which capture card to not get (I just used an Elgato card and was not happy with the results), but I have not had anyone point me to which card I should get.

Is there any way to do this "right" with a mac? It seems that everyone is running Windows 7 (at the newest).

How would you spend $200 to get the video off the tapes and onto my mac?

Any input is appreciated!

- Cole
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-13-2024, 10:54 AM
Free Member

With that budget, I'd probably follow this process: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tk-n7IlrXI4

The issue will be finding a capture card that works with current Mac OS and feeds it interlaced video. The ADVC-110 does for sure with a firewire to thunderbolt adapter, but that has mixed reviews here in terms of whether it produces visually significant artifacts or not. I have heard a lot of descriptions of image issues with it, but haven't seen video samples showing it. With your budget ease of use, this may be a good option. They can be had for around $100 these days, but you'll need a firewire and firewire to thunderbolt adapter.

Oddly, I see that the price of firewire to thunderbolt adapters has skyrocketed for some reason - I swear they used to be something like $30, but now they seem to be more like $75-$100. You'd then also need a Thunderbolt 2 to USB C adapter if your computer doesn't have a Thuderbolt 2 port (which looks like DisplayPort) and that'd add another $25 or so.