Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
05-26-2011, 08:34 AM
Free Member

Hello all,

I've been using a Toshiba RD-XS35 DVD recorder for many years, and it's been great.

However, this week, I've noticed an odd phenomenon. On certain scenes, the video picture becomes extremely low-quality, blurry, and pixelated--even if the encoding bit rate is set very high (7.0+). Then after a minute or two, the quality snaps back to normal. This is not apparent when the transfer is taking place--only on playback. And it does not happen all the time; maybe a two-minute segment within 90 minutes of video. (Just enough to be annoying!)

When I ran the VOB through BitRate Checker, the bit rate line "flatlines" during these segments--it does not drop to the bottom of the graph, but just becomes a very abnormal straight line. Also, the quality line shoots up off the chart. The section looks quite different from the regular lines in a Toshiba-produced VOB (which normally bob up and down in a VBR pattern).

A few notes: The pixelated segment of video almost always happens following a brief period of unrecorded tape (snow). So it's as if the snow is possibly confusing the encoder. (I am running VHS-C tapes from a Panny AG-1980 through a Datavideo TBC.) And when the quality returns to normal, it's always on a jump cut.

Although I have replaced the DVD drives in Toshiba recorders, I'm stymied as to how to fix this particular problem. So that's why I'm here. This phenomenon is probably not unique to Toshiba HDD recorders and maybe what's happening is explainable in plain old tech/computer terms.