10-25-2012, 09:01 AM
Free Member

Hi,

I figured I should try contacting you first, as you seem to be a highly respected expert in those – tremendously interlaced – fields... I have a bunch, I mean, about 50 VHS tapes I've been willing to convert to digital for several years without even being close to get started. I read all sorts of contradictory statements, I bought some devices about which I had read decent reviews (ADSTech DVD Xpress USB box, Panasonic DMR-E95H DVD/HD recorder) or just because they were cheap (a “SilverCrest” branded USB module (1) – apparently rebadged Targa, EM2863 chipset I don't know what it's worth, probably not much –, paid 20 euros in a Lidl, a german chain of “hard-discount” stores – I'm from France by the way). Lately I've been reading many threads on DigitalFAQ, VideoHelp and a few other specialized forums, but it mostly added to the confusion – even though I learned many things, I couldn't really understand the hows and whys or have clear proofs of the superiority of such device or such method without actually experimenting, which would require a non negligible amount of money and willingness to spend it to get devices not guaranteed at all to do a better job than what I already have, as well as a non negligible amount of time which could be better spent if I clearly knew where I wanna go, where I can possibly go for a given investment, and how to go there most efficiently.