11-26-2015, 11:27 PM
Free Member

I'm new to all this. I help at a local arts non-profit called the Venture Compound where they have a pile of a couple dozen old CRT televisions stacked up, which they show strange old VHS tapes on. I'm trying to upload snippets of some of the tapes, a bit like everythingisterrible.com

I've begun some initial conversions. I have a Windows 7 Computer, an ATI 600 USB Card, and I've been using Vitualdub 1.10.4. and have access to a JVC HR-S6400S VCR, Sony SLV-679HF VCR and a Panasonic / Quasar VHQ-960 VCR.

Things were working until I attempted to capture the VHS tape the attached file comes from as an AVI file in virtualdub and it keeps getting scrambled. It plays fine on a TV. It happens in preview and capture. Is that copy protection? Or am I missing some setting in Vitualdub? I tried a different tape and I had no issues.

I've tried the following without any help: different VCRs, s-video and composite, different composite cable, restarting the computer, reseating the card.

I've attached the video compressed for size, but you should get the idea. Thanks for the help!

Attached Files
File Type: mpg Scrambled.mpg (18.17 MB, 21 downloads)
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

11-27-2015, 10:31 PM
Free Member

Yes, copy protection. That's what the ATI 600 does when it detects Macrovision.

P.S. Weird that the video is a little postage stamp in the centre of a big black frame.
11-28-2015, 02:52 AM
Site Staff | Video

Thanked 2,449 Times in 2,081 Posts
That EIT site is fugly.

The video capture exhibits copy protection. You need a TBC to capture it. Copy protection (anti-copy, Macrovision) is an artificial video errors. A TBC corrects all errors, real or fake.

See also: http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/vide...time-base.html

Postage stamping suggests that you've not picked the right capture settings in VirtualDub. Or the wrong encoding settings to make the attached MPEG.