Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Capture, Record, Transfer

LinkBack Thread Tools
01-29-2019, 11:46 PM
Free Member

Hi,

Just starting to get the first captures of my workflow in, and I have a question around properly calibrating my VCR output.

I like the philosophy laid out in previous posts where you first calibrate with tools, then calibrate and fine tune by eye. Makes total sense.

However, I am not entirely sure how to generate the "source" from the VCR, if I don't have an alignment tape (e.g., something with SMPTE bars)... Also, let's just assume, hypothetically, that I have a waveform monitor and vectorscope... (different issue!)

My TBC is a Leitch X75SD (similar to the DPS 575 I think), and it has a test signal generator (TSG) option to output bars and such... Would it be valid to output Bars from the X75 to the VCR, record it to tape, and then playback the tape to do the initial proc amp calibration? (it doesn't seem valid, but I am new to this...)

Are there other options?

Many thanks!

My workflow is:
Mitsubishi HS-HD2000U ----[SVIDEO]----> Leitch X75SD TBC ----[SDI]----> AJA LHe PCIe card (legacy) -----> AJA Machina SW
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

01-30-2019, 10:01 AM
Free Member

Your proposal to record bars would make sense if you are about to record with that VCR. But it may not give valid results for playback of material recorded on another machine. If the TBC bars are good, use them to check and if necessary adjust everything down stream from the point where you connect the VCR.

With everything calibrated downstream, you can use commercial recordings to "eyeball" the quality of VCR's output for problems. Commercial tape playback should remain legal on the waveform and vector displays. Bright whites shoud hit around 100 IRE, and blacks around 7.5 IRE (for USA NTSC).
The following users thank dpalomaki for this useful post: lordsmurf (01-30-2019)
01-30-2019, 03:22 PM
Site Staff | Video