Go Back    Forum > Digital Video > Video Project Help > Encode, Convert for streaming

LinkBack Thread Tools
03-17-2021, 07:30 PM
Free Member

Hi there!

I'm really a newbie here and just got started on a bunch of old vhs/vhs-c tapes with virtualdub. I'm trying to understand all this and the process behind it to make it as good as i can. I wonder if i can get some help to clear up some things to get me further. Would much appreciate it.

So i'm using Virutaldub2 on Windows 10 and using huffyuv to make lossless capture and seems to work fine. Also got lagarith if that would be better, i can't tell the difference.

So my first question is what should i do after i capture and what "end format" i should have? My goal with this is to watch the videos mainly on pc with vlc or similar but also to share them with friends and family. Most will watch on TV with usb stick or view on their computers. Maybe some will stream the videos at home from local nas/computer to TV. I won't upload to Youtube tho.

I guess there many ways the do this but what would be the most "optimal" format that i should encode to?
I got avidemux and hope that it's good to encode from there.

Would be so glad for help
Someday, 12:01 PM
Ads / Sponsors

04-09-2021, 05:57 PM
Free Member

I see you didn't get response, so I'll see if I can be helpful here as a non-expert who's gotten some good results.